Cricket Australia announces T20I squad for Sri Lanka and Pakistan series; Chris Lynn and Marcus Stoinis axed

Australia will play T20I series against Sri Lanka followed by Pakistan starting towards the end of October.

View : 18.7K

2 Min Read

Australia will play T20I series against Sri Lanka followed by Pakistan starting towards the end of October.
Australia captain Aaron Finch(Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

Australia had a great Ashes where they remained successful in retaining it, but now the home season is going to kick off for Aussies after having a hectic summer. In the upcoming months, they will play a T20I series each against Sri Lanka and Pakistan and the selectors have announced a 14 member squad that will play against the Asian countries that will come to their nation for a cricketing banter.

The Australian selectors have certainly taken some strong steps and have omitted some players from the squad. They have picked this squad keeping a view in mind that they need to prepare for T20 World Cup 2020 that is going to take place on their own soil. Players like Chris Lynn, Marcus Stoinis, Darcy Short have been axed from the team, due to their poor run in their particular traits.

Stoinis who was picked in 50-over mega-event that took place in England had a bad stint throughout the tournament and it looks like his career is kept on the line after getting dropped from the T20I squad. Behrendorff has been dropped because of his spinal injury who will undergo surgery in New Zealand and will miss the whole season of 2019-20.

Trevor Hohns feels this squad gives flexibility 

The selection committee has come all out and cleared it that they have selected this squad keeping the T20 World Cup in mind. Trevor Hohns, the national selector feels that this team is quite a role-specific that gives flexibility to the skipper in tough situations as well as in T20 mega event, “It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men’s Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind. The squad we have selected is quite role-specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions,” national selector said as quoted by

In this fresh squad, we can see the return of Steve Smith whose last T20I appearance came in 2016 whereas Warner who has got his spot in the team after a long gap of 20 months. McDermott has also been included in the squad for his brilliant all-round performances in the recent past. Aaron Finch has retained his captaincy whereas Alex Carey and Patt Cummins will be his vice-admirals for the respective series.

Australia T20I squad: Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Watch: 5 talented young India cricketers yet to make their international debuts

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store