Virat Kohli named captain of Cricket Australia's ODI team of the year

Virat Kohli named captain of Cricket Australia’s ODI team of the year

Virat Kohli
India’s Test skipper Virat Kohli. (Photo credit PATRICK HAMILTON/AFP/Getty Images)

Days after announcing the Test team of the calendar year, Cricket Australia came up with their ODI XI for the year and named Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli as the captain of the ODI team. The XI also consist of Jasprit Bumrah as the other Indian who has had a terrific opening year in international cricket. CA had also named Virat Kohli as the captain of the Test team after he was surprisingly left out from ICC Test team of the year.

While the ICC was concerned with performances from September 2015 to September 2016, CA chose to pick both the teams on the basis of performances in the calendar year. Kohli who had a terrific year in the longest format of the game was left out because the modern legend scored most of his runs after the September window and the batsmen picked over him outscored him during that period of time.

Despite missing out in the ICC Test team of the year, he was picked as the captain for the ODI team of the year by the ICC. Cricket Australia’s ODI team of the year consists of 5 Australians other than the Indian duo. A couple of South Africans and one English and Pakistani each complete the XI.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Cock will open the innings with hard-hitting David Warner. The middle order will be led by Virat Kohli followed by Aussie captain Steve Smith. Youngster Babar Azam who had an impressive year in the limited overs circuit will occupy the No.5 slot.

Mitchell Marsh will occupy the all-rounder’s slot followed by English wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler. The swashbuckling England batsman could also play the role of the 2nd keeper in the team. The bowling department will be led by Aussie speedster Mitchell Starc with Jasprit Bumrah and John Hastings playing the supporting role. The lone spinner in the team is leg-spinner Imran Tahir.

Cricket Australia’s ODI Team of the Year:

David Warner, Quinton de Kock (WK), Virat Kohli (Captain), Steve Smith, Babar Azam, Mitchell Marsh, Jos Buttler, John Hasting, Mitchell Starc,  Imran Tahir, Jasprit Bumrah.