Afghanistan announce T20I squad for UAE series

Afghanistan will go into the series without the services of their regular skipper Rashid Khan.

View : 3K

2 Min Read

Afghanistan. (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP via Getty Images)

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB)’s selection committee recently came forward to announce the 18-member squad of Afghanistan for the upcoming three-game T20I series against the UAE. It is worth noting that both sides will face off in three T20Is, with the first game starting on Friday, December 29, and the third T20I scheduled to begin on January 2.

With the announcement of the squad for the three-game series, many fans were quick to notice the absence of star all-rounder Rashid Khan from the squad. The star player will be missing out as he continues to recover from a recent back surgery. In Rashid’s absence, opening batter Ibrahim Zadran was announced to be taking over the captaincy for the three-game series.

Furthermore, the likes of Fazal Haq Farooqi and Naveen Ul Haq have also been included after the recent sanctions against them. The side will be coming into the series on the back of their best-ever performance in the ODI World Cup 2023. The side failed to reach the knockout stages of the tournament but put in brilliant performances and caused many upsets in the marquee event.

Afghanistan face challenge against rising UAE side, Rashid Khan still uncertain for India tour

With Rashid Khan’s absence, there could be some challenges that Afghanistan could face against the UAE; however, that does not mean that the side lacks starpower in any way, and even without the services of Rashid, Afghanistan will go into the series as the clear favourites. 

Besides, after their series against the UAE, the side will be taking on the Indian team in a T20I series in January 2024 as well. The side will hope that they can have Rashid Khan return to the squad by then when they take on the Men in Blue.

Full squad:

Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Mohammad Ishaq (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Sediqullah Atal, Rahmat Shah, Darwish Rasooli, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem and Qais Ahmad.

Reserves: Rashid Khan, Ijaz Ahmad Ahmadzai, Ikram Alikhil and Gulbadin Naib have been included in the squad as reserves.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store