Afghanistan include Noor Ahmad in 18-member squad for Sri Lanka ODIs

Noor, 17, took four wickets in the only T20I game he played but is yet to make an ODI debut for Afghanistan.

View : 2K

2 Min Read

Noor Ahmad
Noor Ahmad. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan management has drafted the young spinner Noor Ahmad into their 18-member squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour. The experienced batting all-rounder Gulbadin Naib is also included in the squad for the three-match ODI series starting from November 25. All three games will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy and will be part of ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League (2021 - 2023).

The 17-year-old legspinner made his T20I debut in the third fixture against Zimbabwe in June this year. He grabbed attention by taking four wickets by conceding just 10 runs from his four-over spell. He has been excellent in the T20 leagues and have impressive numbers in List A games as well. He has taken 16 wickets from just eight List A matches at an impressive economy rate of 4.81 so far.

Including youngsters is a good sign for us leading into the ICC Cricket World Cup next year: ACB CEO

Naseeb Khan, the CEO of the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB), stated that the selectors are focusing on youngsters to prepare for the next ICC one-day World Cup 2023 scheduled in India.

"The selectors have included some young faces for the series which is a good sign for us leading into the ICC Cricket World Cup next year. The series is vital for us in terms of our qualification for the mega event next year and I am sure the squad carries enough strength to do well when they get to the field," Naseeb Khan, the ACB CEO, was quoted via a press release.

Gubadin, 31, is also included in the squad after missing out on Afghanistan's last ODI series against Zimbabwe. He last played ODI cricket in February this year and replaced Hazratullah Zazai in the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2022.

Afghanistan's ODI Squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Fareed Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhil (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Noor Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zia-ur-Rehman

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store