Australia name preliminary 2023 World Cup squad

Australia are the most successful team in the history of ODI World Cups as they have won the showpiece event on five occasions.

View : 923

2 Min Read

Cricket Australia
Cricket Australia. (Photo Source: NOAH SEELAM/AFP via Getty Images))

Five-time 50-over world champions Australia will have some high-voltage matches leading up to the ODI World Cup in India in October-November. After a pulsating Ashes, where Pat Cummins' men managed to retain the urn after drawing the series 2-2, Australia will be looking forward to some fine-tuning ahead of the impending World Cup as they aim for a record-extending sixth title.

Australia have eight more ODI games in hand ahead of the mega event. They will travel to South Africa where they face Temba Bavuma's men in a five-match ODI series in September. The first ODI will be played in Bloemfontein on September 7. Following the fifth and final ODI, Australia will travel to India and play a three-match ODI series.

In the same light, Australia announced their team for South Africa and India ODIs, which is also their preliminary squad for the World Cup. Uncapped spinner Tanveer Sangha and exciting all-rounder Aaron Hardie are two surprise inclusions in the squad. However, the experienced Marnus Labuschagne couldn't find a place in the 18-member squad that comprises some experienced players like skipper Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, and many more.

While the senior players are sure for the big-ticket event later this year in India, Pat Cummins and Co. will be looking to zero in on some of the backups. The final squad for the World Cup must be announced before September 28. Australia play the third ODI versus India on September 27. Therefore, the selectors will get to see the performances of all the players in the South Africa series as well as the India series prior to the final date of selection.

Australia's World Cup campaign begins on October 8 as they face hosts India at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai in the fifth match of the 10-team tournament.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (C), David Warner, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa, Travis Head.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store