BAN vs IRE: Shoriful Islam returns as Bangladesh announce squad for T20Is; Afif Hossain misses out

Bangladesh will host Ireland for three T20Is starting March 27.

View : 159

2 Min Read

Afif Hossain
Afif Hossain

Bangladesh have announced a 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland at home starting March 27. The star batting all-rounder Afif Hossain is a notable absentee who has struggled for consistency lately. Uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Jaker Ali and young leg spinner Rishad Hossain have been included in the national team for the first time.

The 21-year-old left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam returns to the T20I setup after missing out on the squad for the recent home series against England. He last played a T20I against India in November 2022 and was restricted to just three appearances in the Bangladesh Premier League 2023 for Dhaka Dominators due to injury. 

Apart from Afif, Tanvir Islam, and Rejaur Rahman Raja also miss out on the latest squad. Tanvir made his debut in the third T20I against England but was limited to just two overs and dismissed Phil Salt for a duck. Rejaur warmed the bench throughout the England series and his exclusion for the Ireland series was on expected lines.

Rishad's inclusion raises eyebrows as the youngster hasn't played much cricket lately. He has taken only six wickets in 14 T20 games so far and didn't make any appearances in the BPL 2023. He last played competitive cricket for Rangpur Division in a domestic first-class tournament in November 2022.

The Shakib Al Hasan-led squad will play all three T20Is against Ireland at Chattogram's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium from March 27 to 31. Both teams are currently involved in a three-match ODI series with Bangladesh winning the first game by 183 runs and the second game getting washed out due to rain.

Bangladesh T20I squad for Ireland series:

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das (wk), Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Jaker Ali (wk)

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store