BBL 2022-23: Sydney Thunder sign leg-spinner Usman Qadir

Usman previously played for Perth Scorchers in the Big Bash League.

View : 2.6K

2 Min Read

Usman Qadir
Usman Qadir. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

The former champions Sydney Thunder have signed Pakistan leg-spinner Usman Qadir ahead of the 12th edition of the Big Bash League (BBL).The 29-year-old has been primarily signed to provide cover for Tanveer Sangha, who’s currently out due to a stress factor.

The leg-spinner has played 23 T20I matches so far for his nation and picked up 29 wickets at an economy rate of 8.13. The Lahore-born cricketer also has prior experience of playing in the BBL, courtesy of a gig with Perth Scorchers three years ago.

With him being on board, the Sydney Thunder management has now completed the signing of four foreign players, which includes Usman along with England’s World Cup-winning opener Alex Hales, Rilee Rossouw and Fazalhaq Farooqi. 

“Usman joins us with plenty of experience, having represented Pakistan, and playing in T20 leagues around the world. Importantly, he has firsthand knowledge of Australian conditions, he played for Western Australia and South Australia's Futures League, so he knows what to expect,” Andrew Gilchrist, the head of Sydney Thunder said as quoted by ESPNcricinfo.

The Afghan pacer Farooqi in the meantime has joined as a replacement for David Willey, who withdrew from the deal after being Thunder’s platinum overseas signing earlier in the year.

Usman’s history in the BBL

Usman Qadir didn’t get enough opportunities during his time with Perth Scorchers in the past. In seven matches he played for the franchise, the leg-spinner picked up six wickets before the four-time winners parted ways with him. Post that, he never got an opportunity to feature in the Big Bash League. Recently, the 29-year-old was part of Pakistan’s reserve squad for the T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, the Thunder will begin their campaign on the very first day of the league against Melbourne Stars in Canberra.

Sydney Thunder squad: Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Usman Qadir, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store