BCCI announces India's squad for final three Tests against England, Kohli to miss whole series

Royal Challengers Bangalore's Akash Deep has received his maiden India call-up.

View : 3.4K

2 Min Read

Team India
Team India (Photo Source: Twitter)

The anticipation for the announcement of the Indian squad for the final three Tests against England was palpable as the BCCI kept fans waiting for the roster for the Rajkot, Ranchi, and Dharamsala Tests. All eyes were on the availability of star batter Virat Kohli, who opted out of the opening two Tests in Hyderabad and Vizag due to personal reasons that required his full attention.

Fans were particularly interested in the status of star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul, who missed the Vizag Test due to hamstring and quadricep strain issues, respectively. Finally, on Saturday, the BCCI revealed the players selected for the remaining three Tests against England.

As expected, Virat Kohli will continue to miss the remaining Tests against England due to personal reasons, a decision respected by the BCCI given the importance of family needs. While KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja have been included in the squad, their participation hinges on their fitness clearance and match readiness. Meanwhile, Royal Challengers Bangalore's Akash Deep has received his maiden India call-up, adding an element of young touch to the already youthful squad.

Also Read: Reports: Virat Kohli to miss entire England series, KL Rahul-Ravindra Jadeja expected to play in 3rd Test

The five-match Test series between India and England has reached a thrilling juncture, with both teams tied at 1-1. India suffered a surprising 28-run defeat in the series opener, only to bounce back strongly under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, clinching a resounding 106-run victory in the second Test. With the series finely balanced, the upcoming IND vs ENG 3rd Test assumes significant importance as both teams aim to gain the upper hand. 

India's squad for the remaining three Tests against England:

Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul*, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja*, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store