BCCI announces India's T20I and ODI squads for New Zealand tour

Hardik Pandya will lead the T20I side, while Shikhar Dhawan will lead the ODI side.

View : 3.1K

2 Min Read

Indian Team
Indian Team. Indian Team. (Photo Source: Twitter/BCCI)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the squad for the T20Is and ODIs that India is scheduled to play against New Zealand between November 18 to November 30, after the conclusion of the ongoing T20 World Cup 2022. While regular captain Rohit Sharma and vice-captain KL Rahul have been rested alongside former India skipper Virat Kohli, the T20I team will be led by all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

Rishabh Pant will be Pandya’s deputy for the T20Is. In the ODI front, Shikhar Dhawan will be in charge of the team and Pant will continue his role as the team’s vice-captain. Among the IPL sensations, Umran Malik has been named in both the ODI and T20I squad whereas Shahbaz Ahmed, who was very impressive in his maiden series against South Africa recently earned a spot in the ODI squad.

Apart from Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson is the other wicketkeeper-batter that India has in both squads. From the list of players who participated in the T20 World Cup 2022, Suryakumar Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Hooda, and Yuzvendra Chahal alongside Pant and Pandya, will fly to New Zealand for the three-match T20Is and the three-match ODI series.

Shikhar Dhawan has led the Indian side in the ODI seires against West Indies, Zimbabwe and South Africa recently this year and India won them all. On the other hand, Hardik Pandya impressed everyone with his captaincy skills during the IPL 2022 and was named India's captain when a second-string side travelled to Ireland for two T20Is, which India won under his leadership.

India’s squad for NZ T20Is:

Hardik Pandya (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), W Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik.

India’s squad for NZ ODIs:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), W Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik.


Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store