BCCI selection committee list: Applicants for new BCCI senior men's selectors post

The new BCCI selection committee is expected to be named in January 2023.

Venkatesh Prasad and Chethan Sharma
Venkatesh Prasad and Chethan Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Karthik Nair
Karthik Nair

Staff Writer

View : 1.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Board of  Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) are all in readiness to proceed with the next course of action after many applicants have expressed their interest in the men’s selectors positions. The cricket board had sacked the previous selection committee headed by former pacer Chetan Sharma and invited fresh applications to fill the vacant slot.

Even the former members of the core committee -- Chetan Sharma and Harvinder Singh -- have re-applied to be a part of the new selection committee which is reportedly set to be formed in January 2023.

The list of new applicants for the selectors’ post include some of the well-known cricketers including Maninder Singh, Shiv Sunder Das and the wicketkeeping duo of Nayan Mongia and Ajay Ratra. The deadline for the interested candidates to file their nominations was November 28.

BCCI sacked Chetan Sharma-led selection committee after T20 World Cup 2022

The BCCI had sacked the Chetan Sharma-led committee for their disappointing tenure that saw the Indian team failing to make the finals of this year’s Asia Cup and getting knocked out in the semis of the T20 World Cup 2022 down under after a 10-wicket drubbing against the eventual champions England.

Meanwhile, the outgoing selection panel was reportedly asked by the national cricket board to remain in its position for the time being as the members then monitored the knockouts of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 and also the traditional Cooch Behar Trophy tournament.

Earlier this week it was reported that the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) spearheaded by former player Ashok Malhotra is set to hold a meeting on December 30 to begin the formalities of picking up the new selection committee. Apart from Malhotra, the CAC panel also consists of Sulakshana Naik and Jatin Paranjpe and the panel will be meeting at the Mumbai headquarters to take this process forward.

The other applicants for the selectors’ posts include the likes of Venkatesh Prasad, S Sharath, Mukund Parmar, Sameer Dighe, and, Salil Ankola.

North Zone: Maninder Singh, Atul Wassan, Nikhil Chopra, Ajay Ratra, RS Sodhi.

East Zone: Shiv Sunder Das, Prabhanjan Mallick, RR Parida, Subhomoy Das, S Lahiri, Saradindu Mukherjee.

Central Zone: Gyanu Pandey, Amay Khurasiya.

West Zone: Salil Ankola, Samir Dighe, Vinod Kambli.

South Zone: Kanwaljit Singh.