Chattogram Challengers pick former India U-19 star Unmukt Chand in Bangladesh Premier League 2022 draft

Unmukt Chand retired from Indian cricket in August 2021.

Unmukt Chand
Unmukt Chand. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 1.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Unmukt Chand was expected to be the next big thing in Indian cricket, however, his career as a cricketer in India never really took off and he could never capitalise on the phenomenal start to his career.

Chand captained India at the U-19 World Cup in 2012 and played some defiant knocks in the title-winning campaign. His elegant stroke play immediately earned him an IPL contract and he was touted as the future of Indian cricket.

However, after failing to convert his opportunities, Chand was shown the exit from domestic cricket and he announced his retirement (India) at a considerably younger age to sign up a three-year deal in the Minor League Cricket in the USA. According to the BCCI rules, the contracted players cannot be part of the franchise leagues outside the nation, and Chand’s decision to quit Indian cricket was understandable.  

Further, Chand became the first Indian cricketer to sign up for the Big Bash League (2022), Australia’s premier T20 league. The 29-year-old is now set to play for the Chattogram Challengers in the Bangladesh Premier League 2022 edition after getting picked up in the draft.  

Chand had earlier thought about registering in the foreign players' section in the draft and has now become the first Indian cricketer to sign up for the league. 

We have picked him (Chand) as we wanted to have an Indian in our squad: Challengers Owner

The Chattogram Challengers are aware about the impact of Indian fan base and felt that signing him could boost it. 

"We have picked him (Unmukt Chand) as we wanted to have an Indian in our squad plus we can also have a fan base in India," Challengers owner Rifatuzzaman told the media. 

Chattogram Challengers squad: Afif Hossain, Vishwa Fernando, Ashan Priyanjan, Curtis Campher, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Shuvagata Hom, Mehedy Hasan Rana, Mehedy Maruf, Ziaur Rahman, Maxwell Patrick O'Dowd, Unmukt Chand, Taijul Islam, Abu Zayed Rahi, Forhad Reza, Tawfiq Khan Tushar

Meanwhile, the next edition of the Bangladesh Premier League starts in the first week of January and will go on till the second week of February.