Former skipper Chamu Chibhabha returns to Zimbabwe squad for Ireland ODIs

Chamu Chibhabha made his last international appearance in November 2020.

View : 506

2 Min Read

Zimbabwe Team
Zimbabwe Team (Photo Source: Twitter)

Veteran Zimbabwean batter Chamu Chibhabha and emerging leggie Brandon Mavuta have been included in Zimbabwe’s 15-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Ireland starting Wednesday, January 18 at the Harare Sports Club. Meanwhile, the 36-year-old Chibhabha comes back into the national team after a gap of more than two years. He had last played for Zimbabwe back in November 2020.

Even the 25-year-old Brandon Mavuta makes a comeback to the national team’s 50-over format. The emerging cricketer’s last ODI appearance had come in April 2019, and he would now be looking to cement his side permanently in the Zimbabwe team from hereon.

Things have, however, not been easy for Chamu Chibhabha who had to earn his way back to the Zimbabwean squad after showcasing outstanding performances in the domestic circuit. The former skipper enjoyed a splendid run in the Pro50 Championship where he had also played a stupendous knock of an unbeaten 155 off 119 deliveries. 

Meanwhile, veteran all-rounder Sean Williams will be missing the upcoming series after having sustained a fracture on his right finger during the second T20I. Seasoned all-rounder Sikandar Raza will be back in Zimbabwe squad for the One Dayers.

Raza had missed the T20Is due to his International League T20 (ILT20) commitments in Abu Dhabi where he represented the Dubai Capitals.

Zimbabwe pumped up after T20I series win

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe will be heading into this One Day series on the back of a morale-boosting 2-1 victory over the Irish team in the just-concluded T20Is and would be hoping to replicate a similar performance in the 50-over format.

The African nation is out of the 2023 World Cup qualifying race, but they can definitely play party-spoilers to ruin Ireland’s outside chances of making the final cut. The Andrew Balbirnie-led side must win all their remaining ODI series from hereon if they are to have some chance of playing the quadrennial tournament in India later this year.

Zimbabwe squad for Ireland ODIs: Craig Ervine (captain), Gary Ballance, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Bradley Evans, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Brandon Mavuta, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store