IND vs NZ: Mohammed Shami sends back Daryl Mitchell with one-handed blinder

Veteran fast bowler Mohammed Shami has put the Kiwi batters under pressure as he took his second wicket of the day by completing a tough return catch

Mohammed Shami
Mohammed Shami (Photo Source: Disney+Hotstar)
Saatvik Oberoi
Saatvik Oberoi

Sr. Staff Writer

View : 624

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The second One Day International between India and New Zealand is ongoing in Raipur. Notably, this is the first time ever an international match is being played at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium. Meanwhile, veteran fast bowler Mohammed Shami put the Kiwi batters under pressure straightaway as he took his second wicket of the day by completing a brilliant return catch.

India opted to bowl first on a pitch that has plenty of help for the bowlers and India's new ball bowlers Shami and Mohammed Siraj started troubling the batters with their disciplined lines and lengths as India reduced the visitors to 15/5 in the 11th over.

One of the highlights of the dismissals was Shami's brilliant catch to send back New Zealand's Daryl Mitchell on the first ball of the seventh over. The ball was pitched on a good length and the Kiwi batter tried to drive through the mid-off region but ended up giving the ball to the bowler's hand.

It was a magnificent effort to catch the ball from Shami considering he had very little time to react. He caught it with his non-bowling arm, which suffered a serious blow in the last ODI between the sides. Meanwhile, India are dominating the proceedings and would be hoping for more wickets especially of the dangerous Michael Bracewell who seems to be in great touch. 

India currently lead the three-match series 1-0 after a 12-run victory in the first ODI in Hyderabad.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj 

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store