IND vs SA: Here's why Jasprit Bumrah is not playing 1st T20I

Deepak Chahar replaces Jasprit Bumrah in the series opener against South Africa.

View : 1K

2 Min Read

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian cricket team led by Rohit Sharma takes on South Africa in the first of three T20Is on Wednesday, 28th of September at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. While Indian star pacer Mohammed Shami was absent due to fitness concerns, the Men in Blues suffered another setback in the form of Jasprit Bumrah, who misses the series opener due to back issues.

While star all-rounder Hardik Pandya and veteran pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been rested for the South Africa series, Jasprit Bumrah joins Mohammed Shami and Deepak Hooda in the infirmary. Indian skipper Rohit Sharma revealed the ace bowler's omission due to a niggle, while the BCCI confirmed Bumrah's absence with a tweet.

"Jasprit Bumrah complained of back pain during India's practice session on Tuesday. The BCCI Medical Team assessed him. He is ruled out of the first T20I." read the tweet.

While the injury does not seem that serious, the team management is taking no chances with the mercurial pacer, who just returned from a lengthy spell on the sidelines. Rohit Sharma has won the toss and decided to bowl first on a batting-friendly surface in Thiruvananthapuram.

Ravichandran Ashwin gets the nod ahead of Yuzvendra Chahal in the series opener

The Indian team, one of the favorites for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia, were pushed all the way in the recently concluded series against Australia. They face a similar challenge against a skillful Protean side who are coming in the series on the back of a triumphant white ball series against England.

Deepak Chahar gets a place in the team after Bumrah's injury, while the impressive youngster Aarshdeep Singh will spearhead the attack along with Chahar. India have also opted to go with Ravichandran Ashwin ahead of Yuzvendra Chahal, with an abundance of lefties in the South African team playing a factor in the selection.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store