Editor's Pick

IND vs ZIM 2024: BCCI announces 15-member squad, Shubman Gill announced as captain

Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Nitish Reddy, and Tushar Deshpande have earned maiden international call-ups.

View : 2.8K

4 Min Read

Gill, Parag, Abhishek Sharma
Gill, Parag, Abhishek Sharma (Source : Twitter )

The All India Senior Men's Selection Committee has finalized a 15-member squad for the tour of Zimbabwe, scheduled to begin shortly after the T20 World Cup 2024. The Men in Blue will travel to Harare in July's first week to participate in the tour. Notably, all the matches for the tour have been scheduled in Harare.

Team India will be led by Shubman Gill, who is set to make his captaincy debut for the national team, according to a recent release. Earlier reports suggested that the Indian team will be accompanied by VVS Laxman as the head coach for the tour. However, no such information has been communicated in the release, which spices the debate around the coaching position.

Also Read: Reports: VVS Laxman not interested in continuing as NCA chief

The selection committee led by Ajit Agarkar has opted to rest senior players, and players who have been busy with the T20 World Cup duties. Travelling reserves alongside Sanju Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal from the T20 World Cup squad are the only inclusions in the squad for the Zimbabwean assignment. While Sanju is expected to lead the wicketkeeping duties, Dhruv Jurel is expected to be his backup.

The Agarkar-led committee has also picked fresh names like Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Tushar Deshpande and Riyan Parag. All these names are understood to have earned a callup on the backing of their stellar showings in the 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League.

India 15-member squad for tour of Zimbabwe:

Ꮪhubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

Check Here: ZIM vs IND 2024 News, Updates & Scores

India tour of Zimbabwe 2024 Schedule:

Match Date Time (IST) Venue
1st T20I July 06, 2024 4.30 pm Harare Sports Club, Harare
2nd T20I July 07, 2024 4.30 pm Harare Sports Club, Harare
3rd T20I July 10, 2024 9.30 pm Harare Sports Club, Harare
4th T20I July 13, 2024 4.30 pm Harare Sports Club, Harare
5th T20I July 14, 2024 4.30 pm Harare Sports Club, Harare

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store