India A squad for one day series against New Zealand A announced, Sanju Samson to lead

The three games will take place at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai.

View : 1.6K

2 Min Read

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson. (Photo By Sam Barnes/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

BCCI has announced the India A squad for the upcoming one-day games against New Zealand A and Sanju Samson is set to lead the side. The three games will be played at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai on September 22, 25 and 27 respectively. This will be a big test for the youngsters to showcase their talents and make it to the senior Indian side.  

Samson has been in the scheme of things for the Indian ODI side of late with his impactful performances, but has lacked in consistency. He couldn’t find a place in the T20 World Cup 2022 squad for India but a better show in the upcoming ODIs might push his case for a spot in the Indian side after the T20 World Cup.  

Among the notable names, Prithvi Shaw, who could not find a place in the four-day games against New Zealand A, has been picked up for the one dayers. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi, who sat out for most part of the recent international assignments for India, have earned their places in the India A squad.  

Rajat Patidar, who has been quite impressive throughout the season from the IPL to the domestic fixtures, has been included while KS Bharat will be the second wicketkeeper-batter in the squad. Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar and Shahbaz Ahmed form the spin department.  

Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen picked in the squad

In the pace department, the selectors have gone in with Umran Malik and Kuldeep Sen, who clocked high speeds in the IPL this year while Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur finding places too. Youngsters like Tilak Varma and Raj Bawa have been rewarded with spots and it will be important for them to capitalise on the opportunities in the India-A side which remains a strong platform to get into the Indian side.  

India A squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini, Raj Angad Bawa 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store