Jake Fraser-McGurk, Wes Agar added to Australia's squad for Perth T20I

Josh Hazlewood has been released from the squad, as he is going to start preparing for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

View : 293

2 Min Read

Jake Fraser-McGurk
Jake Fraser-McGurk (Photo Source: X/Twitter)

Australia lost the Gabba Test last month as the West Indies managed to avoid defeat in the Test series. However, the white-ball assignments have been dominated by the rampaging Men in Yellow. They whitewashed the Caribbean side in the ODIs 3-0 before bagging the T20I series 2-0 with a game to spare.

The third and final T20I is set to be played in Perth on Tuesday, February 13. The home side has made some changes to their squad before the encounter, as the exciting Jake Fraser-McGurk and the talented Wes Agar have been called up. The two domestic sensations are yet to make their T20I debuts for Australia but have played two ODIs each.

Fraser-McGurk made his international debut in the second ODI against the West Indies in Sydney. He hit a four and a six in his five-ball stay at the crease. The flamboyant opener followed it up with a blistering 41 off 18 balls in the third ODI, hitting five fours and three sixes. The 21-year-old, who recently received rich praise from the legendary David Warner, would be eager to make a mark if he gets an opportunity to play on Tuesday. It would be interesting to see Fraser-McGurk and Glenn Maxwell playing together on the same team. The latter smashed a fantastic 120 not out off 55 balls in the second innings.

Agar is also in line for a T20I debut. He replaced veteran pacer Josh Hazlewood, who has returned home to Sydney to begin preparations for the forthcoming tour of New Zealand. Agar's two ODI appearances came against the West Indies in July 2021 in the Caribbean.

The Aussies might have won the series but captain Mitchell Marsh and Co. are in no mood to relax. The star all-rounder stated that the team is looking forward to making the scoreline 3-0.

“Although we’ve won the series, we want to win 3-0. That represents an exciting opportunity for us,” captain Marsh told Cricket Australia (CA) after arriving in Perth on Monday.

Australia squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Wes Agar, Xavier Bartlett, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Also Read: Australia vs West Indies, 3rd T20I Match Preview

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store