Mitchell Marsh confirms Australia's top-order for the 2024 T20 World Cup, no room for Steve Smith

"I've batted three for the last 18 months... And obviously Heady and Davey Warner have been amazing for us over the last period of time, so I daresay that'll be the top three,” said Marsh.

View : 480

2 Min Read

Steve Smith and Cameron Green
Steve Smith and Cameron Green. (Photo Source: X(Twitter)

Ahead of the opening T20I at Wellington's Sky Stadium, Australian skipper Mitchell Marsh affirmed his commitment to his established number three position, setting the stage for Australia's tour of New Zealand. With Glenn Maxwell's explosive century against West Indies at No. 4 and Tim David's consistent displays at No. 6 during the T20I series against West Indies, Australia's batting order appears solidified leading up to the World Cup which'll commence in June. 

However, the question of Steve Smith's role remains uncertain amidst Australia's well-structured top and middle- order. David Warner and Travis Head are poised to open in the upcoming T20 World Cup. As the team seeks to balance the lineup and optimise its batting resources, the right-handed batter's inclusion presents an intriguing subplot for the team management to navigate as they prepare for cricket's pinnacle T20 event.

"There will be certain guys that probably bat in different positions than they have done in the past, but ultimately we're here to win the series. I've batted three for the last 18 months, so I'll be there to start with. And obviously Heady and Davey Warner have been amazing for us over the last period of time, so I daresay that will be the top three,” Marsh said as quoted by

Also Read: T20Is added to Chappell-Hadlee Trophy, point structure to decide winner

Marsh vouches for long-term results with captaincy

Marsh, who is currently leading the Australian T20 side in the series against West Indies and New Zealand, clarified that he doesn't view his captaincy stint as an audition for the World Cup leadership role. He emphasized his focus on preparing the team for the upcoming tournament, and that he views his current leadership as part of the broader strategy rather than a trial for the captaincy position. 

Australia's squad for New Zealand T20Is

Mitchell Marsh (c), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store