Mitchell Marsh, Warner, Starc and Stoinis return to Australia squad for West Indies series

The first match of the two-match T20I series will be played on October 5.

View : 1.5K

2 Min Read

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Opener David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis mark their return to Australia's 16-member squad for the upcoming two-match T20I series against the West Indies at home starting October 5 (Wednesday).

The home team will be boosted by the return of these star players as they were not a part of the Australian team that toured India recently for a three-match T20I series. While Warner was rested, Starc, Stoinis, and Marsh were ruled out due to injuries. 

All-rounder Cameron Green who had an impressive outing against India has been added to the squad along with Tim David. Meanwhile, left-arm spinner Ashton Agar and right-arm pacer Kane Richardson have been rested. 

We are taking a cautious approach with the World Cup nearby: George Bailey

"We have and are taking a cautious approach with the World Cup on the near horizon," National Selection Panel Chair George Bailey said as quoted by Cricbuzz. 

"To have four key players return gives us the ability to take a conservative path with any minor issues and resolve those well in time for the World Cup. As such we anticipate Kane and Ashton will return for the following series against England," he added. 

After the T20I series against the West Indies is done and dusted, the Aussie side will face England in a three-match T20I series with the matches to be played in Perth and Canberra. The host nation will also play a practice game on October 17 before the start of the T20 World Cup. 

Aaron Finch's Australia are the defending champions. They defeated New Zealand in the final match of the 2021 T20 World Cup. Under the leadership of skipper Aaron Finch, the Men in Yellow will look to repeat their heroics in the all-important tournament. 

Australia squad for the West Indies series:

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store