Mumbai Indians pick MI-WIN combined XI, Kieron Pollard named as captain

MI franchise won nine titles in their history.

View : 9.5K

2 Min Read

Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Titans
Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Titans. (Photo Source: IPL)

Right after winning the inaugural edition of the Major League Cricket (MLC), the MI franchise announced a combined playing XI featuring West Indies stars, who represented them in T20 cricket all across the globe. Notably, since 2008, multiple Caribbean superstars have represented the franchise. Not just in the Indian Premier League but also in the SA20, ILT20 and MLC, respectively.

Revealing their team, Mumbai Indians (MI) named Kieron Pollard as the skipper while Nicholas Pooran, who was in charge of the team for a significant amount of time in the MLC will be keeping wickets. On the other hand, Evin Lewis and Lendl Simmons have been named as the openers. Notably, Lewis smashed two terrific centuries for the franchise in 2017 and 2019, respectively. Simmons meanwhile played an important role in helping the franchise win the IPL in 2015 and 2017.

The franchise named Dwayne Smith as their number three. In three years, the former West Indies international has scored 945 runs. Smith helped the team to win the IPL in 2013 and also played a key role in helping them win the Champions Trophy in the same year.

Kieron Pollard donned batting coach hat for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023

Meanwhile, hard-hitter Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo are the fourth, fifth and sixth batters on the list. Notably, Pollard is considered to be one of the legends of the MI franchise. He has been terrific for the team, winning five IPL titles and the MLC in 2023. Notably, ahead of the IPL 2023 season, Pollard was also named as the batting coach of the side.

Bravo represented the franchise for a very limited time but shares a great relationship nonetheless. He has amassed 508 runs and picked up 30 wickets in 33 matches he played for the franchise. 

Sherfane Rutherford, Fabien Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Jerome Taylor and Krishmar Santokie are the remaining players of the 11-men squad. Interestingly, Joseph’s name will forever be remembered for his remarkable 6-12 debut against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2019.

MI-WIN Combined XI Squad:

Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Kieron Pollard (c), Dwayne Bravo, Sherfane Rutherford, Fabian Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Jerome Taylor, Krishmar Santokie

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store