PCB announces coaching staff for the inaugural season of Pakistan Junior League, Shoaib Malik named mentor of Gujranwala

The league will take place in October this year.

View : 2.4K

2 Min Read

Shoaib Malik of Pakistan (Photo by Visionhaus/Getty Images)
Shoaib Malik of Pakistan (Photo by Visionhaus/Getty Images)

Several former Pakistan cricketers including Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, and Abdur Rehman who are part of Pakistan's domestic and U-19 coaching staff will be also involved with six Pakistan Junior League teams for the 19-match opening season set to be held at Lahore’s Gadaffi Stadium from 6 to 21 October.

Not only former Pakistani players, but foreign coaches such as Darren Sammy Gordon Parsons and Toby Radford will join Bahawalpur and Rawalpindi teams/

Veteran Pakistan spinner and PCB's spin bowling consultant  Mushtaq Ahmed will be the head coach of the Gwadar side, while former Pakistan star all-rounder Abdul Razzaq and the Central Punjab head coach, will take charge of the Hyderabad support staff. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa head coach and former left-arm spinner Abdur Rehman will be Mardan’s head coach.

Each of the six sides has also been assigned specialized coaches for support of their head coaches

Former Pakistani opener Imran Farhat will be heading the batting coach department of the Bahawalpur. Similarly, pacer Aizaz Cheema will be the bowling coach for Gujranwala. Former Pakistan's wicketkeeper-batter Kamran Khan will join Razzaq in the Hyderabad team squad as the batting coach. Former Pakistan express pacer Mohammad Sami would be making his coaching debut as he will join Mardan as bowling coach. 

Meanwhile, Daren Sammy will be the mentor of the Hyderabad squad, while Kiwi batter Colin Munro will be mentoring the Rawalpindi team. The rest of the support staff for the six teams will be announced in due course.


Mentor – Imran Tahir Head coach – Gordon Parsons Batting coach – Imran Farhat


Mentor – Shoaib Malik  Head coach – Ijaz Ahmed Snr Bowling coach – Aizaz Cheema


Mentor – Vivian Richards  Head coach – Mushtaq Ahmed Batting coach – Kamran Khan


Mentor – Daren Sammy   Head coach – Abdul Razzaq Batting coach – Ghulam Ali 


Mentor – Shahid Afridi   Head coach – Abdur Rehman Bowling coach – Mohammad Sami  


Mentor – Colin Munro  Head coach – Toby Radford  Batting coach – Muhammad Masroor

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store