PCB names 29 players for training camp ahead of New Zealand T20Is

The series will begin on April 18 with the first game with the first three T20Is scheduled to be played in Rawalpindi while Lahore will host the final two games.

View : 4K

2 Min Read

Pakistan Cricket Team
Pakistan Cricket Team. (Photo Source: X(Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection committee has announced a roster of 29 players who are set to take part in the training camp ahead of the five-match home T20I series against New Zealand. The camp, which will be held at an Army base in Kakul from March 25, is scheduled to run until April 8.

Pakistan will announce the final squad for the series from this pool of players. The series will commence on April 18 with the first three T20Is scheduled to be held at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium while the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore will host the final two games. Meanwhile, New Zealand are expected to arrive in Islamabad on April 14.

Also read: PCB chairman Mohsin Naqvi reveals reason behind Shane Watson's refusal to coach Pakistan

Pakistan likely to name new T20I captain

Pakistan's national team endured a string of gloomy performances since their poor campaign in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup held in India in October-November. Following the ICC global event, Babar Azam stepped down as Pakistan captain, leading to Shan Masood taking over leadership responsibilities in both ODIs and Tests, while ace speedster Shaheen Afridi assumed the role of T20I captain. 

Grant Bradburn, Pakistan's former head coach, also parted ways with the team while Mohammed Hafeez, former Pakistan captain and team director, took over coaching duties during the series against Australia and New Zealand. Despite this change, Pakistan fell short in both the Test series against Australia and the T20I series against New Zealand. Since Pakistan lost the T20I series 4-1, Shaheen is expected to relinquish his T20I captaincy. The newly appointed selectors are likely to name a new T20I skipper when they announce the squad.

Also read: PCB chief Mohsin Naqvi signals change in Pakistan's T20I captaincy

The 29 players for the training camp are listed below:

Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah, Saud Shakeel, Usman Khan, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mehran Mumtaz, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Ali, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Amir.

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series schedule

April 18 – 1st T20I, Rawalpindi

April 20 – 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi

April 21 – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

April 25 – 4th T20I, Lahore

April 27 – 5th T20I, Lahore

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store