Record 67% increase in demand for Border-Gavaskar Tests tickets on opening day of sales in Australia

The Test series will kick off on November 22 in Perth.

View : 259

2 Min Read

Rohit Sharma and Pat Cummins
Rohit Sharma and Pat Cummins. (Source - Getty Images)

Cricket Australia has witnessed an unprecedented surge in ticket demand for the Border-Gavaskar Tests on the first day of sales for the upcoming Australia cricket summer. The five-Test Border-Gavaskar Trophy series has seen a remarkable 67% increase in demand compared to the previous highest for an India Test series in 2018-19.

As expected, Boxing Day at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) emerged as the hottest property, attracting cricket enthusiasts from all corners. Additionally, the Sydney New Year's Test, bolstered by the iconic McGrath Day activities, experienced strong ticket sales, reflecting the fans' eagerness to be part of the annual charitable event.

Brisbane also saw a significant uptick in interest, with numerous fans expressing their excitement to revisit the Gabba, where India famously clinched a historic victory in the 2020-21 series. The strong sales in Brisbane highlight the ongoing popularity and competitive spirit of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

The overwhelming response underscores the anticipation and enthusiasm surrounding this series, promising an electrifying atmosphere across all venues.

Also Read: Two-match Australia A vs India A series to serve as precursor to 2024/25 Border-Gavaskar series

Earlier, Cricket Australia has announced the establishment of dedicated fan zones for Indian cricket fans for the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy. This initiative is part of CA's Multicultural Action Plan, aimed at fostering inclusivity and providing exceptional experiences for fans from diverse backgrounds.

India Fan Zones for Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Cricket Australia will create a brilliant experience for Indian fans this summer with dedicated seating areas across all five venues for the highly anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy, including the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

The Test series will kick off on November 22 in Perth, followed by a Day-Night Test in Adelaide on December 6. The series will continue with matches at the Gabba on December 14, the famous Boxing Day Test at the MCG, and the Pink Test at the SCG in January.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store