SA20 2023: List of awards and prize money

Sunrisers Eastern Cape defeated Pretoria Capitals by 4 wickets to win the inaugural edition of the SA20 league.

View : 339

2 Min Read

Sunrisers Eastern Cape
Sunrisers Eastern Cape. (Photo Source: Twitter/SA20)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape made history on February 12, by becoming the first-ever team to lift the SA20 title. On the night of the finals, they absolutely thrashed Pretoria Capitals, who finished at the top of the table in the league stage. Opener, Adam Rossington, gave the Aiden Markram-led side a perfect start, which eventually helped Sunrisers win the game with 22 balls remaining.

Batting first, the Capitals posted only 135 runs on the board, as they lost all their ten wickets within 20 overs. Only Kusal Mendis (21 off 19 deliveries) managed to cross the 20-run mark and that shows how their batting unit misfired on the big night. 38-year-old left-arm orthodox Roelof van der Merwe outclassed the opponent's batting order, picking up four wickets in the process, while Sisanda Magala and Ottniel Baartman picked up two each. 

In the second innings, Rossington’s good start was followed by Jordan Hermann and Aiden Markram’s solid partnership in the middle overs. They always had the edge over the Capitals and thus, despite losing six of the batters, Sunrisers managed to win the game comfortably by four wickets.

Now, courtesy of his exceptional performance, Van der Merwe was adjudged as Player of the Match while Aiden Markram bagged the Player of the Tournament. The 28-year-old finished as the third-leading run-scorer of the tournament, scoring 366 runs from 12 innings. With the ball, the South Africa international picked up 11 wickets at an economy rate of 6.19. Thus, he was very influential throughout the tournament and was rightfully chosen as the winner of the coveted prize.

On the other hand, Jos Buttler has been adjudged the Batter of the tournament while Merwe was chosen as the Bowler of the tournament. Meanwhile, Eathan Bosch was identified as the Rising Star of the Season.

Here is the full list of the award winners from the SA20:

Champions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape - INR 16.17 cr

Runners-up: Pretoria Capitals - INR 8.8 cr

Player of the Match (Final): Roelof van der Merwe (Sunrisers Eastern Cape) - INR 4.62 lakhs

Spirit of the Season: Sunrisers Eastern Cape - INR 4.62 lakhs

Rising Star: Eathan Bosch (Pretoria Capitals) - INR 4.62 lakhs

Batter of the Season: Jos Buttler (Paarl Royals) - INR 9.23 lakhs

Bowler of the Season: Roelof van der Merwe (Sunrisers Eastern Cape) - INR 9.23 lakhs

Player of the Season: Aiden Markram (Sunrisers Eastern Cape) - INR 16.14 lakhs

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store