SLC announce women's squad for upcoming ODI series against New Zealand

Chamari Athapaththu will lead the Sri Lankan side in the upcoming three-match ODI series against New Zealand.

View : 284

2 Min Read

Sri Lanka Women Team
Sri Lanka Women Team. (Photo Source: Jan Kruger-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee named a 15-member women's squad that will face New Zealand in a three-match ODI series, beginning in Galle, on June 27. Captain Chamari Athapaththu will lead the side that includes the experienced Nilakshi de Silva, who has been in exemplary form this year, albeit in T20 cricket. In seven T20Is, de Silva has scored 156 runs at an average of 52, in 2023. She will be one of the key players when Sri Lanka host the White Ferns on home soil.

There is a fine balance between youngsters and veterans in the Sri Lanka squad. There are talented youngsters in the form of Harshita Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, and Kavisha Dilhari while the likes of Oshadi Ranasinghe and Udeshika Prabodhani will bring the experience.

Last month, Sri Lanka hosted Bangladesh in April-May as the two Asian teams played three ODIs followed by as many T20Is. Sri Lanka won the ODI series 1-0, after two games were called off due to rain. The only game that could be completed was a rain-curtailed 30-over affair in Colombo, where the hosts made 186/5, thanks to Athapaththu's 60-ball 64-run knock, and Harshita Samarawickrama's unbeaten 48-ball 45.

Jess Kerr ruled out of Sri Lanka tour

The experienced right-arm seamer, Jess Kerr, will not be part of the New Zealand team that will be coming to Sri Lanka. She got hit on her toe while batting at training early last week. Following a scan, it was revealed that she had a broken toe and will need up to six months to recover. Off-spinner Leigh Kasperek has been called into the side as a replacement for Kerr. Kasperek played her last match for New Zealand on September 23, 2021, against India.

Sri Lanka squad for ODIs versus New Zealand: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Vishmi Gunaratne, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Kawya Karvindi, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Hansima Karunaratne, Inoshi Fernando, Imesha Dulani, Hasini Perera.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store