WBBL 2022: Melbourne Renegades suffer major blow as injury rules Harmanpreet Kaur out of tournament

Eve Jones will replace injured Harmanpreet Kaur in the Melbourne Renegades.

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 2.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Melbourne Renegades have suffered a massive blow as their star batter Harmanpreet Kaur has been ruled out of the ongoing Women's Big Bash League due to a back injury.

Renegades have got off to a decent start in the ongoing WBBL. They started off their campaign with an impressive four-wicket win over Adelaide Strikers at the Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay. However, the side lost the following match against Brisbane Heat as the latter won by 21 runs.

Earlier, Melbourne’s coach Simon Helmot had informed that the Indian captain will miss both the opening fixtures for the side. It was due to India's hectic schedule during the Women's Asia Cup 2022 as the side eventually went onto clinch the title.

Harmanpreet Kaur to be replaced by Eve Jones

Confirmed by the club’s official sources, the India skipper has pulled out of the tournament due to a back injury. “Harmanpreet was fantastic for us last season and we were looking forward to having her as part of our squad again this year, but unfortunately she has been ruled out through injury,” said Melbourne Renegades General Manager, James Rosengarten.

Moreover, the club has further confirmed that England batter Eve Jones will replace the injured Harmanpreet in the WBBL side for the rest of the season. “Eve will stay on with our squad for at least the next couple of matches, as we work through the best strategy for our squad for the remainder of the tournament,” Rosengarten added.

Harmanpreet also took to Twitter to confirm her exit from the domestic tournament. “Sad to miss out of the #WBBL08 this season. Will miss playing with my RED Team. Do well, @RenegadesWBBL. Love to all.”

The India skipper was an integral member of the squad and was adjudged as the player of the tournament in the previous year’s edition.