West Indies announce squad for Australia Tests, seven uncapped players make the cut

The West Indies will travel to Australia in January to play a multi-format series against Pat Cummins and Co.

View : 16.9K

2 Min Read

West Indies vs India
West Indies vs India. (Pic source: RANDY BROOKS/AFP via Getty Images)

The West Indies will look to put up a strong show when they embark on a difficult tour to Australia in January to play two Tests, three ODIs, and three T20Is against Pat Cummins' men.

On Thursday, December 21, Cricket West Indies (CWI) named a 15-man squad that will face the World Test Champions in the red-ball leg of the multi-format series Down Under. As many as seven uncapped players have been named in the squad that doesn't feature former captain Jason Holder and all-rounder Kyle Mayers. According to Cricket West Indies (CWI), the two experienced players made themselves unavailable for selection as they will be looking to pursue T20 deals in January

Uncapped all-rounder Kevin Sinclair, who was a part of West Indies squad for the Test series at home against India in July, has been named for the Australia Tests. Apart from Sinclair, batter Zachary McCaskie, wicketkeeper Tevin Imlach, all-rounders Justin Greaves and Kavem Hodge, fast bowlers Akeem Jordan and Shamar Joseph have also received call-ups.

Left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, who has done well in limited-overs cricket for the West Indies in recent times, has been recalled to the Test side. He played his last game in whites for the West Indies in March against South Africa.

"The squad has been affected by the unavailability of some key players. However, we have had a very strong red-ball program being run over the past year, which has unearthed significant talent throughout the region. The selected players have passed each test given to them and must now be given the opportunity to showcase their skills in the test arena. Australia away is always a challenge, but we are confident in our team," Desmond Haynes, CWI Lead Selector, said.

Meanwhile, experienced fast bowler Alzarri Joseph has been named as the deputy of Kraigg Brathwaite. The West Indies will play a four-day game before locking horns against Australia in the first Test in Adelaide, beginning on January 17. The second Test will be played with a pink ball at the Gabba, starting on January 25.

West Indies Squad for Australia Tests: Kriagg Brathwaite (C), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Alick Athanaze, Kirk McKenzie, Joshua da Silva, Alzarri Joseph (VC), Kemar Roach, Kevin Sinclair, Kavem Hodge, Justin Greaves, Akeem Jordan, Gudakesh Motie, Tevin Imlach. Shamar Joseph, Zachary McCaskie

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store