Why is Lockie Ferguson not playing IPL 2024 Match 45 between GT and RCB?

The Kiwi speedster has been expensive in his three spells for the Bengaluru franchise this season.

View : 802

2 Min Read

Lockie Ferguson
Lockie Ferguson ( Photo source : X / Twitter )

Gujarat Titans (GT) are clashing with the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in match 45 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, April 28. It is an afternoon game and the toss was won by the RCB skipper Faf du Plessis who decided to bowl first.

Du Plessis revealed that Glenn Maxwell has made his way back into the team, adding "some firepower in the middle-order". Lockie Ferguson misses out from the previous match. Notably, Mahipal Lomror also is not named in the starting XI but is part of the Impact Players' list.

"The wicket will be better later, so we will like to chase. With so many high scores the nature of this game has changed, our bowlers have been exceptional in the last two games. We have scored big with the bat, those are the changes. Maxwell comes back in, we have some firepower in the middle-order," said Du Plessis at the toss.

Talking about the home team, Shubman Gill shared that they have not made any changes to their starting XI. With GT batting first, it is quite likely that Sandeep Warrier would be the Impact Player as the Kerala-born pacer had a fantastic last game (3-0-15-3). 

"(We) Would have chased as well, looks like a really good wicket to bat second. Need to put a good score on the board. We have batted decently, we lost by a difference of just one ball in the last game. This is the right time to peak for us," said Gill.

Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill(c), Sai Sudharsan, David Miller, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahul Tewatia, Shahrukh Khan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Mohit Sharma

Impact Players: Sandeep Warrier, Sharath BR, Manav Suthar, Darshan Nalkande, Vijay Shankar

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik(w), Swapnil Singh, Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal

Impact Players: Anuj Rawat, Mahipal Lomror, Himanshu Sharma, Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store