Women's T20 World Cup 2023: Full List of Award Winners of the tournament

Australia clinched their sixth T20 World Cup title, defeating South Africa by 19 runs.

View : 446

3 Min Read

Cricket Australia
Cricket Australia. (Photo Source: Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

Australia trumped South Africa by 19 runs in the final of the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 on February 26 to claim their sixth T20 World Cup title. After opting to bat first, Australia posted a decent total of 156/6 in their allotted 20 overs at Newlands courtesy of Beth Mooney’s unbeaten 74 off 53, 

The total wasn’t too daunting for the in-form South African batting line up, however, they faltered under the pressure of the high-voltage clash. Openers Laura Wolvaardt and Tazmin Brits could not get their side off to a flying start as Brits departed early after struggling in her knock of 10 off 17. The Proteas further lost Marizanne Kapp and captain Sune Luus to be 54/3 after 10.3 overs.

However, Wolvaardt continued her brilliant form and took the South African innings forward. She got good support from Chloe Tyron as they added 55 runs in 35 balls. With 45 needed from 22 balls, South Africa lost the crucial wicket of Woolvaardt, who departed after scoring 61 off 48. Following her dismissal, no other batter from the Proteas could hit big under pressure.

As a result, they could only manage 137/6, handing a win to Australia by 19 runs. With the win, Australia completed their second hattrick of T20 World Cup titles, having won the previous two editions in 2018 and 2020 respectively. Mooney was awarded Player of the Match for her crucial knock.

Here is the full list of awardees of ICC Women’s T20 WC 2023

Winners – Australia

Runners-Up – South Africa

Player of the Tournament – Ashleigh Gardner (110 runs, 10 wickets)

Player of the Match – Beth Mooney 74* off 53 balls

Highest Run-Scorer – Laura Woolvardt (230 runs in six innings)

Highest Wicket-Taker – Sophie Ecclestone (11 wickets in five matches)

Best Batting Performance- Muneeba Ali 102 (68) vs Ireland

Best Bowling Performance – Ashleigh Gardner 5/12 in 3 overs vs New Zealand

Women's T20 World Cup 2023 Prize Money

Winners: Australia - $1 million

Runners-up: South Africa - $500,000

Losing semi-finalists: India, England - $210,000 each

Group stage exit: $30,000

Group stage win: $17,500

Total prize pool: $2.45 million

Women's T20 World Cup 2023 vs Men's T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money comparison

Australia received a sum of $1 million, while the runners-up South Africa got half of that amount. Further, the losing semi-finalists received a sum of $210,000 from the total $2.45 million, while the teams that failed to go beyond the group stage were awarded $30,000. Also, the winner of every pool match will win $17,500.

On the other hand, the winners of Men's T20 World Cup 2022, England received a sum of $1.6 million, while runners-up Pakistan were awarded half the amount ($800,000). Furthermore, the losing semi-finalists received a sum of $400,000 from the $5.6 million total prize pool, with the eight teams who failed to get past the Super 12 stage receiving $70,000 each.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store