Maharashtra Premier League 2023: Ratnagiri Jets script history by winning championship title

Rain played spoilsport in summit clash as Ratnagiri clinched the title

View : 817

3 Min Read

Ratnagiri Jets
Ratnagiri Jets. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Maharashtra Premier League 2023 concluded with Ratnagiri Jets winning the sought-after regional championship. Owned by new age digital entertainment and technology company, JetSynthesys, Ratnagiri Jets created history by winning their maiden tournament. The team brought its best foot forward and won all its matches but one through the league. This helped them stay on top of the points table paving the way for their win at the washed-out finals.

While the final face-off between Ratnagiri Jets and Kolhapur Tuskers was scheduled for 29th of June, the teams couldn’t walk on to the raining field. The match then took place today, with the downpour only allowing Kolhapur Tuskers to bat for 16 overs scoring 80 runs for 8 wickets. Ratnagiri Jets, with the highest score of 8 points and the highest net run rate of +0.630 was declared befitting winners of this season.

The captain and icon player of the team, Azim Kazi says, “This was a special win for me and the entire team of Ratnagiri Jets. The sheer determination, zeal of the team and most importantly the support from our fans and cricket lovers is what drove us to this historical win. We would like to thank everyone who watched us play live on-ground and online. We are truly grateful to MCA management’s vision for giving upcoming local talents such a credible platform. This is not just a victory for our franchise, but a victory for the game itself.”

Thrilled by the win, Rajan Navani, Founder and CEO, JetSynthesys said, “I congratulate the entire Ratnagiri Jets team for this glorious win. Cricket as a sport has truly connected us as a nation over the years. This synergy has always been special to us and has been one of the reasons why we forayed into mainstream cricket. We are elated that we could create history in our very first season after a successful run at the simulated mobile cricket gaming market. With a sustained vision of fostering local talent, Ratnagiri Jets looks forward to a long-standing association with MCA and MPL as we keenly await the upcoming seasons.”

Capturing over 60% of the market for indigenous cricket games in India, JetSynthesys is known for marquee cricket gaming titles like Real Cricket and Sachin Tendulkar’s Sachin Saga Cricket Champions and Sachin Saga VR. With MPL 2023, JetSynthesys marks its strong foray into mainstream cricket. It is also known for some of India’s biggest esports tournaments with high prize pools.

Adding to this, Rakesh Navani, Joint Managing Director & Chief Investment Officer, Jetline Group of Companies said, “Today is a historic day for us, and we are thrilled by winning the championship. I believe we as team ticked a lot of right boxes during the entire series and we’re proud of each member who worked towards the win. The players across teams put their best foot forward and played with a lot of heart and fervour making this series a remarkable one. We will continue to invest in our love for cricket and give the audiences diverse cricketing experience across formats.”

Ratnagiri Jets were a bunch of passionate talented cricketers. Over each of the 7 matches, a new star performer rose to the occasion each time, creating several superstars during the course of the tournament. The list of star performing players features all-rounder Divyang Hinganekar, wicket-keeper and Batsman Nikhil Naik, pace bowler Pradeep Dadhe, spinner Kunal Thorat, batsman Preetam Patil, pace bowler Vijay Pavle and all-rounder captain Azim Kazi.

The Maharashtra Premier League 2023 saw participation from 6 teams – Ratnagiri Jets, Kolhapur Tuskers, Puneri Bappa, Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings, Eagle Nashik Titans, and Solapur Royals. The tournament featured some of the best players from Maharashtra – Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Kedar Jadhav, and saw a competitive league enjoyed by multiple cricket enthusiasts.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store