Big Bash League 2023-2024 Stats Review: Spencer Johnson's superb bowling, Josh Brown's feat and other stats

Spencer Johnson's Superb bowling effort helped the Heat to claim their second BBL title.

View : 16.9K

3 Min Read

Brisbane-Heat. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

The highly entertaining Big Bash League season concluded, with Brisbane Heat securing the title for the second time. Sydney Sixers, despite defeating Brisbane Heat in the Qualifier, suffered a defeat in the finals, finishing as the runners-up. Josh Brown played a steady innings, scoring fifty runs (53 off 38), and the valuable captain's knock, adding 33 runs off 32 balls. Power-hitting contributions from Matt Renshaw (40 off 22) and Paul Walter (29 off 19) helped the Brisbane Heat post a total of 166/8 in their allocated 20 overs.

In response, Sydney Sixers had contributions from Josh Phillippe and Moises Henriques, who scored 23 and 25 respectively. However, the rest of the batters failed to make significant contributions, leading to Sydney Sixers falling short in the chase. Spencer Johnson's splendid bowling performance of 4/26 in his four overs played a crucial role in Brisbane Heat's victory. Spencer was awarded the Player of the Match for his excellent bowling display.

Top Performers:

Matthew Short was outstanding in the series, gathering 541 runs at an impressive average of 60.11, with a strike rate of 153.25. He is followed by Josh Brown, who collected 366 runs in just nine innings at an average of 40.66. Third in the list is Aaron Hardie with 334 runs at an average of 37.11. In the bowling department, Xavier Bartlett leads the chart with 20 wickets in 11 innings. He is closely followed by Spencer Johnson, who took 19 wickets. The third position on the list is shared by Ben Dwarshuis and Paul Walter, with 17 wickets each.

Meanwhile, here are some of the important stats and numbers from the thirteenth edition of the Big Bash League:

208 - Josh Brown becomes the first player to score 200 or more runs in knockouts in a single season of BBL.

4 -Sydney Sixers lost to Heat, marking their fourth loss in Big Bash League finals and making them the team with the most final defeats. Following them, Melbourne Stars and Perth Scorchers are in the second position on the list with three losses each in finals.

541 - Matthew Short's 541 runs in this season are the most runs by a player for Adelaide Strikers, surpassing the previous record of 501 in the 2021/22 season, held by Jonathan Wells.

155 - Sean Abbott completed 150 Wickets for Sydney Sixers in BBL.

2 - Andrew Tye (156) has completed 150 wickets in the BBL and becomes the second player to achieve this feat after Sean Abbott.

12 -Josh Brown smashed 12 sixes against the Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League 2024 Challenger at Carrara Oval. This is the most sixes hit by any batter in a single innings in the BBL.

3 - Josh Brown smashed 140 runs against the Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League 2024 Challenger. He reached his century in just 41 balls, tying the second-fastest hundred ever scored in the BBL, alongside Glenn Maxwell's 41-ball ton against the Hobart Hurricanes in 2022. The fastest hundred in the BBL remains Craig Simmons' 39-ball 100 against the Adelaide Strikers in 2014.

1-Josh Brown smashed 140 runs against the Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League 2024 Challenger final, setting the highest score ever recorded by a Brisbane Heat batter in the BBL. This surpasses the previous record of 112, set by Luke Pomersbach against the Melbourne Renegades in 2013.

1 - Glenn Maxwell's Player of the Match award in the 23rd match of Big Bash League 2024 ties him for the most Player of the Match award in the league's history with 14 wins. He shares this record with Chris Lynn.

1 - Steve Smith has stormed past the Sydney Sixers record for fastest to 1000 runs, reaching the milestone in just 30 innings. This surpasses the previous record of 35 innings set by Daniel Hughes.

1 - Spencer Johnson's figures of 4/26 against the Sixers at Sydney in 2024 represent the best bowling performance in The BBL final. Sean Abbott holds the second-best performance in finals with figures of 4/32 against Brisbane Heat in Sydney in 2024. The third-best in finals is credited to Andrew Tye, who achieved figures of 3/15 against the Sixers at Melbourne (Docklands) in 2022.

3 - Brisbane Heat won their second Big Bash League title, placing them third on the list of most titles won by a team. Perth Scorchers currently lead with five titles, followed by Sydney Sixers with three.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store