Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023, Series Stats Review: Virat Kohli's achievements, Nathan Lyon's feat and other stats

India won the BGT for the fourth consecutive time with a 2-1 margin

Indian Cricket Team with BGT
Indian Cricket Team with BGT. (Photo Source: BCCI)

View : 182

4 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The most awaited Border-Gavaskar trophy came to an end as Team India won the series for the fourth consecutive time with a margin of 2-1. The duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin accounted for massive 31 wickets in the first two games helping India win both games.

A magnificent bowling show from Nathan Lyon helped Australia bounce back in the third Test. A total of 5 centuries were recorded in the series, interestingly four out of five centuries came in the final Test match which produced a high-scoring draw affair.

Rohit Sharma, Usman Khawaja, Cameron Green, Shubman Gill, and Virat Kohli were the players to register centuries in this series. Axar Patel, was the pick of batters for his consistency to score three fifties coming at number 8 and 9. As the series ended, both India and Australia secured their places in World Test Championship 2021/23 finals and will be playing the final on June 7, 2023 at The Oval.

Top Performers: 

The Aussie opener Usman Khawaja leads the batting chart with 333 runs in three games at an average of 47.57 and he is followed by Virat Kohli with 297 runs at an average of 49.50 in the second spot. The Indian all-rounder Axar Patel takes the third spot with 264 runs, averaging 88. In the bowling department, Ravichandran Ashwin leads the bowling chart with 25 scalps and is followed by Ravindra Jadeja, and Nathan Lyon, with 22 wickets each. Australian spinner Todd Murphy takes the third spot with 14 wickets. 

Meanwhile, let us look at the stats and numbers from Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023

1- Nathan Lyon became the leading wicket-taker in the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

Most Wickets in Border Gavaskar Trophy 

116 - Nathan Lyon 
114 - Ravichandran Ashwin 
111 - Anil Kumble 

75 - Virat Kohli scored his 75th century in international cricket and became the only second player to achieve this feat 

Players with most international centuries: 

100 - Sachin Tendulkar 

75 - Virat Kohli 

71 - Ricky Ponting 

63 - Kumar Sangakkara 

62 - Jacques Kallis

- India has won the fourth consecutive Test series against Australia 

Teams with Most Consecutive Test Series wins against  Australia

7 - England (1884 - 1890) 

5 - West Indies (1984 - 1992) 

4 - India (2017 - 2023) 

10 - Virat Kohli has won the player of the match award for the tenth time in the Test matches. 

Most player of the match awards in Test matches for India  

14 - Sachin Tendulkar 

11 - Rahul Dravid 

10 - Anil Kumble 

10 - Virat Kohli

16 - India has won the 16th Consecutive Test Series at home

Most consecutive Test series win at home 

16 -India (Feb 2013-Present) 

10 -Australia (Nov 1994- Nov 2000) 

10 -Australia (July 2004- Nov 2008) 

8 -West Indies (Mar 1976- Feb 1986) 

24 - Marnus Labuschagne scored his 24th fifty-plus score in World Test Championship 

Players with most 50+ scores in World Test Championship: 

25 - Joe Root 

24 - Marnus Labuschagne 

23 - Babar Azam 

4 - Shubman Gill became the fourth Indian to score century in all formats in the same year. 

Indians scoring centuries in all formats in a same year 

2010 - Suresh Raina  

2016 - KL Rahul  

2017 - Rohit Sharma  

2023 - Shubman Gill  

140 - Cameron Green became the 140th Player to score a century in a Test match for Australia 

2 - Usman Khawaja became the second leading runs scorer in the World Test Championship 2021/23 

Players with most Runs in World Test Championship 2021/23

2234 - Joe Root 

1608 - Usman Khawaja 

1527 - Babar Azam 

1509 - Marnus Labuschagne 

1285 - Jonny Bairstow 

2 - Ravichandran Ashwin is now having the second most number of POTS (Player of the series) awards 

Most POTS awards in Tests  

11 - Muttiah Muralitharan 

10- Ravichandran Ashwin 

9 - Jacques Kallis 

3 -Ravichandran Ashwin became the third Indian alongside Kapil Dev and Ravindra Jadeja to achieve the feat of 4000 international runs and 4000 international wickets. 

5 -Mohammad Shami became the fifth Indian fast bowler to pick 400 international wickets. 

2 – Virat has scored 8 centuries in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and has the joint second-most centuries in BGT alongside Ricky Ponting and Steven Smith. Sachin Tendulkar tops the list with nine hundreds. 

2 - Ravindra jadeja became the second Indian player after Kapil Dev to achieve the feat of 2500 runs and 250 wickets in Test matches 

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store