Stats: MS Dhoni’s CSK tops charts with most unchanged XIIs in IPL 2023

CSK named an unchanged side as many as nine times this season.

View : 356

4 Min Read

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: IPL)

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have fielded an unchanged side the most times in the ongoing IPL 2023. Following the conclusion of the league phase, CSK, GT, LSG, and MI are all set to square off in the playoffs for the coveted title.

After 14 matches in their campaign in the league phase, legendary skipper MS Dhoni fielded an unchanged XII (XI and Impact Player) in nine matches. It is no secret that the CSK think tank prefers not to chop and change, which has resulted in them obtaining favourable results.

The yellow outfit is the only franchise with the most unchanged XII’s in the 16th edition of the top-tier league. Behind CSK, the defending champions Gujarat Titans fielded an unchanged side four times whereas Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings are joint-third on the list, having named an unchanged side on three occasions. The rest of the seven teams changed their setup in almost every match of the group phase. 

CSK lock horns with GT in Qualifier 1

On Tuesday, May 23, the yellow outfit led by Dhoni will cross swords with Hardik Pandya and Co. at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai in the Qualifier 1. It is worth mentioning that Gujarat have won each of their three meetings against Chennai and will be gunning to replicate the same in the forthcoming clash.

Moreover, Hardik and Co. have maintained their form from the previous edition and will look to add a second title on the trot in their cabinet. LSG will square off with five-time winners Mumbai Indians in the Eliminator at Chepauk on Thursday, May 24.

Most Unchanged XII's in IPL 2023-

No. Team  Most unchanged XII's 
1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) 9
2. Gujarat Titans (GT) 4
3. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 3
3. Punjab Kings (PBKS) 3
4. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) 2

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store