Cricket West Indies announce ODI and T20I squads for the tour of New Zealand

Chris Gayle headlines in both ODI and T20I squads.

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle of West Indies. (Photo Source: Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

Cricket West Indies have announced the ODI and T20I squads for the limited overs series against New Zealand. Both the teams have a big name in common and that is of veteran big-hitting opening batsman Chris Gayle. Left-arm spinner Nikita Miller made a comeback in the ODI squad and even after poor performances in England, Marlon Samuels also retained his position in the squad. Fast bowler Rayad Emrit received a maiden call-up in the T20I side after a good in show this year’s Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The Windies team will lock horns with the Kiwis in 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is starting from December 20. The visitors are already behind in the ongoing two-match Test series as the scoreline reads 1-0 in favour of the hosts after a massive innings win at Wellington. It is also a point that the visitors need to find a settled combination before the World Cup 2019 qualifiers, which they need to play after failing to qualify directly in the grand tournament.


Chris Gayle headlines in both ODI and T20I squads

The ODI squad led by captain Jason Holder looks a bit of settled line-up with a combination of both experienced and young players. 25-year old Ronsford Beaton earned a maiden call-up to the ODI squad along with Nikita Miller who was recalled in the national team. Big-hitting batsman Chris Gayle retained his position in the limited overs squad after a decent show in England recently. Middle-order batsman Jason Mohammed was announced as the vice-captain of the one-day team.

The T20I squad led by skipper Carlos Brathwaite welcomed back the veteran specialists Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard who have been in a great form in the shortest format of the game. Rayad Emrit earned his first opportunity to represent his country at the national level against the Kiwis. The only major name missing was of opener Evin Lewis who missed out due to personal reasons.

ODI squad: Jason Holder (Captain), Jason Mohammed (Vice Captain), Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.

T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (Captain), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams.