CSA announce South Africa squad for Sri Lanka Tests; Kagiso Rabada not cleared medically to play

CSA announce South Africa squad for Sri Lanka Tests; Kagiso Rabada not cleared medically to play

The first of the two-match Test series between Sri Lanka and South Africa will commence on December 26.

South African team
South African team. (Photo by MARCO LONGARI/AFP via Getty Images)

South Africa will lock horns against Sri Lanka in a two-match Test series, starting from December 26 in Centurion. As the two mainstays of Proteas pace attack Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius are doubtful for the Test series as they haven’t regained their full fitness, the pacer Migael Pretorius got his maiden call-up to the South Africa Test squad.

Migael is 34 first-class games old and is having a good run while representing VKB Knights in the ongoing edition of the South Africa’s 4-day Domestic Cup. He is currently the third-highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 19 scalps in 5 matches and registered best bowling figures of 7 for 102 against the Dolphins last month.

Overall, he has 121 first-class wickets, as well as an average of 25.44 with the bat. Apart from Migael Pretorius, Sarel Erwee, Kyle Verreynne and Glenton Stuurman have also received maiden Test calls from Cricket South Africa (CSA) for the home Test series against Sri Lanka.

CSA gives an update on Kagiso Rabada

Speaking about the inclusion of Migael in the South Africa Test squad, CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said as quoted by Cricbuzz, “We’re pleased to include Migael in the Proteas Test squad for the Sri Lanka series. We’re big on rewarding consistently good work and the player has done a lot to make a case for himself,”.

“We hope that this experience will be a great learning one for him and that this can serve as encouragement for players across the country, showing them that their chances may not be as far off as they think,” Mpitsang added.

CSA also gave an update on the pacers Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius in the South Africa Test squad by saying that they “have not yet been medically cleared to participate in the tour.”

The South Africa Test squad will assemble in Pretoria on December 19, Saturday to begin their preparation and training ahead of the first Test against Sri Lanka from December 26.

South Africa Test squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Sarel Erwee, Anrich Nortje, Glenton Stuurman, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Kyle Verreynne, Migael Pretorius