CSA announces 16-man squad for Indian spin bowling camp

CSA announces 16-man squad for Indian spin bowling camp

The squad will be accompanied by four coaches.

Temba Bavuma
South Africa’s Temba Bavuma. (Photo by OLI SCARFF/AFP/Getty Images)

Cricket South Africa has announced the 16-man squad for the Indian spin bowling camp which will start from April 28 to May 6 in Mumbai, India. The squad consists of five batsmen, 11 bowlers and four coaches. Speaking about the camp, the CSA High-Performance Manager Vinnie Barnes said that the several senior players have asked to be included again in the camp.

The squad will be accompanied by four coaches. A total of five Cape Cobras’ team players have been added to the squad. Four from Titans, two each from Warriors, Dolphins, Highveld Lions and one player from SWD.

“Nearly all our national teams will be touring the sub-continent in the coming months including the Proteas and the National Academy who will both be going to Sri Lanka and South Africa ‘A’ who will be touring India,” said Vinnie Barnes to Sport 24.  “Several senior players, who have been to this camp before, appreciate its value and have asked to be included again.”

Many South African players gave a positive feedback about the spin bowling camp in the past 6-7 years and this motivated CSA to add more players to the squad. In 2017, CSA announced the 12-man squad for the same camp and now the number has been increased to 16.

While many of the SA players keep themselves busy with the IPL 2018 schedule, the other Proteas stars will try to improve in all three departments with the camp in Mumbai.

Here’s the Spin bowling camp squad:


Temba Bavuma (Cape Cobras), Tony de Zorzi (Titans), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Christiaan Jonker (Warriors), Sinethemba Queshile (Warriors), Rudi Second (Knights)


Junaid Dawood (Cape Cobras), Bjorn Fortuin (Highveld Lions), George Linde (Cape Cobras), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Gregory Mahlokwana (Titans), Senuran Muthusamy (Dolphins), Tsepo Ndwandwa (SWD), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Shaun von Berg (Titans)


Malibongwe Maketa, Claude Henderson, Russell Domingo, Neil McKenzie

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.