CSA makes a new announcement on its upcoming T20 League

CSA signed a memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the South African Cricketers' Association (SACA) on Tuesday.

Thabang Moroe
Thabang Moroe. (Photo by Gettyimages)

View : 424

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Cricket South Africa (CSA) launched a new T20 league recently which will replace the much-debated Global T20 League. Its inaugural edition was due to be played last year but it was postponed 3 weeks before the start thanks to the absence of a broadcast deal. But the new ‘yet-to-be-named’ competition will most probably not be shelved as CSA has now announced that the tournament will comprise of 6 teams and not 8.

The decision was taken after the CSA Cheif Executive Thabang Moroe announced the signing of the new a new Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the South African Cricketers’ Association (SACA). He also confirmed that the league will be finally launched at the end of 2018.

League likely to consist of 32 matches

According to ESPN Cricinfo, CSA approved the number of teams on Saturday but it has not been decided from where the franchises will be based. The board has appointed independent analytics agency Nielsen Sports to oversee the process of bidding. “There will be certain criteria applied by Nielsen which will involve monies, the ability to pull crowds, infrastructure around you and governmental support. The process will be independent,” Moroe said.

The six-team tournament will likely consist of a total of 32 matches and will be played in November and December this year. Moroe also went on to inform that the league is going as planned so far and they are meeting broadcasters corporates for more sponsorships.

“The league continues as far as planning is concerned. We have continued to meet with the broadcasters and with corporates for sponsorship opportunities. But we are not as far as we would like to be in terms of sponsorship,” he added.

Meanwhile, it was also confirmed that the existing Ram Slam T20 competition will go ahead like its previous editions in 2018/19 season as well. But the new league will be played in the different format compared to it.

[interaction id=”5b5c560f77f0ec452a57d18a”]

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates