CSK vs DC Head to Head Record in IPL History

CSK holds the record for reaching the finals of IPL most times.

View : 1.6K

72 Min Read

MS Dhoni and Shreyas Iyer
MS Dhoni and Shreyas Iyer. (Photo Source: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Chennai Super Kings have been one of the most consistent performers in IPL history. Except for IPL 2020 and 2022, they have qualified for playoffs in all the seasons. They also hold the record for reaching the finals of IPL for most times (9) in the tournament history so far. On the other hand, Delhi Capitals are yet to win a title with their only final appearance coming in the 2020 season. In IPL 2021, Delhi and Chennai ended the league stage at the first and second positions respectively. Both the teams failed to qualify to playoffs in the last season. In IPL 2023, CSK yet again qualified for the playoffs while DC became the first team to get eliminated from the campaign. 

CSK vs DC Head to Head:

In the IPL history so far, both teams have played 29 games against each other. In these games, CSK have the upper hand winning 19 games while DC have won the rest 10 matches. Both teams met in the first qualifier of 2021 IPL where CSK registered a victory by four wickets. Notably, DC won both matches against CSK in the league stage last season and the Super Kings did the same over the Capitals in IPL 2023.

Matches Played CSK Won DC Won Tie No Result
29 19 10 0 0

All-Time Top Performers:

In the matches held between Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals, the veteran batsman MS Dhoni has hit the most runs (629), followed by Suresh Raina (552), Shikhar Dhawan (433), and Murali Vijay (346). Among the bowlers, Ravichandran Ashwin and Dwayne Bravo have picked up 19 wickets each, followed by Ravindra Jadeja (17) and Albiie Morkel (13).

Chennai Vs Delhi Last Meeting:

Both sides last met in Match No. 67 of IPL 2023 at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi where the Yellow Army defeated the Capitals by a big margin of 77 runs. The visitors batted first and posted a massive total of 223/3 on the board in their allotted 20 overs. Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway set the tone for a mammoth total as they struck 79 and 87 runs respectively. In reply, skipper David Warner led his side from the front and played a lone hand of 86 off 58. The rest of the batting line-up failed miserably as DC managed to score only 146/9 in 20 overs. All the CSK bowlers were amongst the wickets with pacer Deepak Chahar being the pick of the lot for his spell of 3/22 (4).

Chennai Vs Delhi in All Seasons Stats:

Tournament Venue Winner Margin
2023 IPL Delhi CSK 77 Runs
2023 IPL  Chennai CSK 27 Runs
2022 IPL Mumbai CSK 91 Runs
2021 IPL Dubai CSK 4 wickets
2021 IPL Dubai DC 3 wickets
2021 IPL Mumbai DC 7 wickets
2020 IPL Sharjah DC 5 wickets
2020 IPL Dubai DC 44 runs
2019 IPL Vizag CSK 6 Wickets
2019 IPL Chennai CSK 80 runs
2019 IPL Delhi CSK 6 Wickets
2018 IPL Delhi DC 34 runs
2018 IPL Pune CSK 13 runs
2015 IPL Raipur DC 6 wickets
2015 IPL Chennai CSK 1 run
2014 IPL Delhi CSK 8 wickets
2014 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 93 runs
2013 IPL Chennai CSK 33 runs
2013 IPL Delhi CSK 86 runs
2012 IPL Chennai CSK 86 runs
2012 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2012 IPL Delhi DC 8 wickets
2011 IPL Chennai CSK 18 runs
2010 IPL Chennai DC 6 wickets
2010 IPL Delhi CSK 5 wickets
2009 IPL Johannesburg CSK 18 runs
2009 IPL Durban DC 9 runs
2008 IPL Delhi CSK 4 wickets
2008 IPL Chennai DC 8 wickets


Last Updated: 20th May, 2022.
For all the latest IPL live scores, news, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store