'Different rules for India' - Twitter lashes out at Virat Kohli for running on the pitch while taking a run

‘Different rules for India’ – Twitter lashes out at Virat Kohli for running on the pitch while taking a run

Slater also added that the third umpire should have taken note of the situation, as the umpires on the field were seemingly unaware of the situation.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Cricket and controversies are the two words that go hand in hand. Owing to the popularity of the sport, at any given time, there are almost a thousand eyeballs pinned to observe the happenings and comment on it if anything goes sideways. In a similar development that took place during the second One Day International of the series being played between India and Australia, where the Indian captain Virat Kohli reportedly ran on the pitch, while completing a run, and it was not noticed by the umpire.

After going down really badly in the first match of the series, team India made a strong comeback in the second ODI. The match was won by team India, by a margin of 36 runs. This victory was a result of a collective effort by the team and they will be looking to replicate the same performance again. The series now is tied 1-1 and the next match that is to be played in Bengaluru will act as the series decider.

As reported by Yahoo Sport, the incident in focus took place during India’s batting innings in the 42nd and 43rd over. Virat Kohli, who was leading the Indian batting attack at that time, was seen running on the pitch, where he was not supposed to while completing his run.

The commentator in the box at that time, Michael Slater, pointed out how this was being ignored by the umpire on the field at that point of time. He said, “Just seeing how he navigates the two, for me that is very much on the pitch, and that is definitely on the pitch. If I’m an umpire I’m watching that and I’m just telling him to get off a surface that the opposition has got to bat on later.”

Slater also added that the third umpire should have taken note of the situation, as the umpires on the field were seemingly unaware of the situation.

Team India would have gotten a 5-run penalty

As per the rules of the sport, any team whose player runs on the playing area of the pitch is handed a 5-run penalty. And, as far as the opinions of some fans and the commentator go, the same should have been the case with Kohli. Later in the match, team India all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja was handed a warning for the same act, but no penalty was imposed.