ECS T10: Bizarre scenes as batsmen steal two runs despite wicketkeeper standing near the stumps with the ball in his hand

ECS T10: Bizarre scenes as batsmen steal two runs despite wicketkeeper standing near the stumps with the ball in his hand

While running two runs is definitely not bizarre, what makes it bizarre is that the batsmen completed those runs while the ball was in the wicketkeeper's gloves.

ECS T10
ECS T10. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Unpredictability is one of the most appealing nature of cricket. No one can correctly predict the outcome of the game till the very end and it is one of the beauties of the gentlemen’s game. A game of cricket can take a turn in a blink of an eye and the game has been witnessing such instances for decades. And a recent incident that took place in the ongoing European Cricket Series – ECS T10 has once again justified the unpredictability tag of the game.28D

Pakcelona CC pulled off a heist against Catalunya Tigers when they needed three runs from the final ball. Their batsmen ran two runs on the final ball in bizarre circumstances to tie the game. While running two runs is definitely not bizarre, what makes it bizarre is that the batsmen completed those runs while the ball was in the wicketkeeper’s gloves.

In normal circumstances, even a single is seen as an impossible task when the wicketkeeper has the ball in his hands but the Pakcelona batsmen defied all the odds to complete two runs in their T10 match against Catalunya Tigers.

The bizarre double

Needing three off the final ball, the batsman on the strike – Adalat Ali – swung hard but failed to make any contact with the ball. While the ball went behind the stumps, he straightaway ran for a single. The wicketkeeper quickly collected the ball and ran to the stumps, by when the non-striker Azeem Azam had made his ground.

But as the wicketkeeper stood next to the stumps, looking completely relaxed as if the game was finished, Adalat decided to do the unthinkable. He ran for the second run and Azam didn’t leave the crease until his partner had reached his end. When Adalat reached the striker’s end, Azam ran for the second run.

The wicketkeeper soon realised what was going on as he rolled the ball to the bowler who was standing in the middle of the pitch. The bowler tried to hit the stumps but failed as the Pakcelona batsmen managed to take the game to the “Golden Ball”. The “Golden Ball” rule is being used in the European Cricket Series.

As per the rule, if the game ends in a tie, the chasing team will get one delivery where it will have to score two or more runs to win the game. Catalunya Tigers won the game as Pakcelona could only take a single off the “Golden Ball” in the end.

Watch the video