Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy clinch ICC ODI and T20I Cricketer of the Year award in Women's cricket

Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy clinch ICC ODI and T20I Cricketer of the Year award in Women’s cricket

Meg Lanning has been named the captain of both Women's ODI and T20I teams of the year.

Ellyse Perry
Ellyse Perry. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Australia’s Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy walk away with the top honours for 2019, while Meg Lanning is named captain for both limited-overs sides in ICC’s annual awards. Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry has won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year and also been named as the ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year, the International Cricket Council announced on Tuesday, 17 December.

Perry has had a stellar year across formats, with three hundreds, including one in the Women’s Ashes Test. She averages 73.50 from 12 ODIs this year, where she has also taken 21 wickets, including a national record 7/22. She became the first player to complete 1,000 runs and 100 wickets in T20I cricket.

“It’s an amazing honour and I’m a little bit shocked, given how many amazing performances there have been across the year,” said Perry, who has won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for the second time in three years – the first as the inaugural winner in 2017. “It’s amazing to be acknowledged and I do truly appreciate it. It’s a really nice way to finish the year on a personal note.”

It’s been an amazing year, says Perry

Upon being named the ODI Player of the Year, Perry said, “It’s been nice to have a chance to tour so consistently with the Australian team. It’s been an amazing year, I’ve really enjoyed all of it and it’s just been nice to be a part of it. “It’s so exciting that the T20 World Cup is here at home early next year and with the target of the final at the MCG it could be a really special moment in the game’s history.”

Perry dominated the crease throughout 2019 alongside opening partner and fellow award winner Alyssa Healy. Named as T20I Cricketer of the Year for the second year running, Alyssa Healy entered the record books in October, scoring a world record 148* off 61 balls against Sri Lanka – the highest score by a woman in T20Is.

The wicket-keeper batter reached her half-century off 25 balls and her maiden hundred off just 46, for the fastest century ever by an Australian man or woman. “I’m really pumped to be awarded the T20I Cricketer of the Year. The Australian women’s team had a fantastic 12-month period and we played some really consistent T20 cricket. Whilst the individual award is really nice for me personally, I think it was great to see our team play so well throughout that 12-month period, especially leading into a home World Cup in 2020,” said Healy.

Both Perry and Healy have also been named in the women’s ODI and T20I teams of the year, alongside fellow Australian and national team captain Meg Lanning, who has been named as skipper of both the 50-over and 20-over sides. With Perry, Healy, and Lanning recognised in the annual ICC Women’s Cricket Awards, Australian women’s cricket finds itself in something of a golden era at just the right time.

“It’s a huge honour to be named captain of the ICC ODI and T20 Teams of the Year alongside some incredible players,” said Lanning. It’s been an amazing year for the Australian team and we’re looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead in 2020.

“A home T20 World Cup is an opportunity that doesn’t come along often, but we are looking forward to and embracing the challenge of performing well in front of our home crowd.” Ranked No.1 in both the One-Day and T20 International formats, the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup reigning champions will be keen to retain their title on home soil, at the world’s biggest cricket stadium in front of a potential new world record crowd for a women’s sporting fixture.

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on International Women’s Day, Sunday 8 March 2020. Commencing in Sydney on 21 February, the tournament will also see Thailand compete at their first-ever World Cup – in women’s or men’s cricket, T20I or 50-over.