ENG vs AUS: England add two debutant pacers to the ODI squad for last two games

ENG vs AUS: England add two debutant pacers to the ODI squad for last two games

ECB also added Chris Jordan to the Lions squad for the tri-series against India A and Windies A.

Sam Curran
Sam Curran. (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images)

The England team management has decided to add two players to the One-Day International squad for the ongoing series against Australia. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced that Sam Curran and Craig Overton who were with the England Lions have been called up to the national squad for the last two ODIs against the Aussies.

England have already won the series 3-0 absolutely thrashing the visitors in the last game that would’ve completely demoralized them. The team now has additional fast bowling option with Curran who recently made his Test debut and Overton in the line-up. They play the next match in Chester-le-Street and the duo will join the rest of the squad there for Thursday’s match that will be played at Riverside.

Both Curran and Overton are yet to make their ODI debuts and the selection is on the back of their consistent show in the Royal London One-Day Cup representing Surrey and Somerset respectively.

England ODI squad for the last two ODIs vs Australia

Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Sam Curran, Craig Overton.

Chris Jordan added to Lions’ squad

The England Lions will now play a one-day tri-series against India A and West India A starting June 22. ECB named Chris Jordan as a replacement in the Lions’ squad. Sam is also a part of the side for the limited-overs series against India and thus he will remain with the national team. Overton, on the other hand, will be back with the Lions and will be available for selection from the third match of the series.

England Lions squad for the Tri-Series: 

Nick Gubbins (Middlesex), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Yorkshire), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Steven Mullaney (Nottinghamshire, captain), Ben Foakes (Surrey, wk), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Matthew Fisher (Yorkshire), Reece Topley (Hampshire), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Chris Jordan (Sussex).

For all the latest cricket news and other updates follow CricTracker.