England announce squad white-ball squads for South Africa series, Adil Rashid returns

England are set to host South Africa for three ODIs, three T20Is, and three Test matches starting July 19.

View : 5.4K

2 Min Read

Adil Rashid
Adil Rashid. (Photo by Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

England have announced T20I and ODI squads for the upcoming six-match white-ball series against South Africa at home. The star Yorkshire spinner Adil Rashid returns to both squads after missing out against India due to Hajj pilgrimage. The in-form wicketkeeper batter Jonny Bairstow, who missed the T20I series against India, also returned to the squad while Durham pacer Matthew Potts has been included in the ODI squad after an impressive debut in Test cricket last month.

Ben Stokes is one of the surprising absentees from the three-match T20I squad. The star all-rounder missed the T20I series against India after featuring in England’s last four Test matches. He has decided to be not part of the upcoming The Hundred tournament as part of his workload management.

Former skipper Joe Root is missing out on the T20I squad once again. England continue to keep faith in struggling opening batter Jason Roy, who is part of both the squads. Roy scored just 31 runs in the T20I series against India and has managed to score only 23 runs from the opening two matches in the ongoing ODI series.

England have only one day of gap after their third ODI match against India on July 17. They are likely to field their best XI for the series-decider clash in Manchester. The first ODI match against South Africa is scheduled for July 19 in Chester-le-Street, where England are likely to rest a few senior players. England are also scheduled to host South Africa in a three-match Test series starting August 17 at Lord’s.

England ODI squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey.
England T20I squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store