England Women announce a 14-member squad for ODI series against South Africa

The three-match ODI series is set to begin on July 11.

View : 896

2 Min Read

England v Bangladesh
England (Photo by Fiona Goodall/Getty Images)

England Women have announced a 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match home ODI series against South Africa, starting on July 11. All-rounder Alice Davidson-Richards returns to the England squad, and youngsters Lauren Bell and Issy Wong have earned their national call-ups. Following the ODI series, there will also be a three-match T20I series between the two teams, starting on July 21. 

England Head Coach Lisa Keightley said that it is “exciting” to begin a new three-year cycle, although this ODI series will not be part of the ICC Women’s Championship. She also added that the team was “delighted” with the energy and skill that the debutants brought in the Test match against South Africa, adding that the team has to keep looking forward and improve.

“Although these South Africa ODIs don’t form part of the ICC Women’s Championship, we are at the beginning of a new three-year cycle, which is so exciting,” Keightley was quoted as saying by ecb.co.uk “We have to keep looking forward and trying to improve as a team, and we were so delighted with the energy and skill that the four debutants brought in the LV= Insurance Test match.

Selection is becoming tougher as more players make a case to be included: Keightley

“I’m looking forward to hopefully seeing something similar in the Royal London Series and throughout the rest of the summer, with new players putting their hands up to win games for England and selection becoming tougher and tougher as more players make a case to be included,” said the England head coach.

Ahead of the ODI series, England Women A will take on the Proteas in a warm-up T20 game at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on July 4, Monday, for which England has announced a 13-member squad. Another England Women A squad for a 50-over warm-up game, which will be played on July 7, has been announced.

England Women ODI squad: Heather Knight (c), Nat Sciver (vc), Danni Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley, Emma Lamb, Tammy Beaumont, Alice Davidson-Richards, Sophie Ecclestone, Kate Cross, Katherine Brunt, Amy Jones, Charlie Dean, Issy Wong, Lauren Bell

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store