IPL 2024: Fastest Deliveries in IPL

When it comes to T20 cricket, the game is batter-dominant, and for all the obvious reasons. However, some bowlers make a name for themselves with their unique and differentiated abilities. One of the skill that excites fans about a bowler, especially a seamer, is the raw pace at which they bowl. If the surface offers swing, it adds another layer of prowess to their armour, and gives the team an opportunity to outplay the opponent.

The Indian Premier League, too, has seen some speedsters unleash their absolute best when it comes to delivering the white ball with blink-of-an-eye pace. Till date, Australian pacer Shaun Tait, who last played IPL more than a decade ago, holds the record for the fastest ball in the cash-rich league. The second spot is held by New Zealand national Lockie Ferguson, who played for Gujarat Titans in 2023, delivered a ball at 157.3 kmph to put his pace on display.

Fastest Balls in IPL 2024

Mayank Yadav bowled the fastest delivery of IPL 2024 clocking 156.7 kph. Lockie Ferguson competed with him in this aspect and made an appearance in the top fastest deliveries of the season so far.

Sl No Player Teams Ball Speed (kph)
1 Mayank Yadav LSG 156.7
2 Mayank Yadav LSG 155.8
3 Mayank Yadav LSG 153.9
4 Mayank Yadav LSG 153.4
5 Nandre Burger RR 153
6 Gerald Coetzee MI 152.3
7 Alzarri Joseph RCB 151.2
8 Matheesha Pathirana CSK 150.9
*Last Updated on 22nd May, 2024

Fastest Balls in IPL 2023

Sl No Player Teams Ball Speed (kph)
1 Lockie Ferguson KKR 154.1
2 Umran Malik SRH 152.1
3 Mark Wood LSG 151.2 
4 Anrich Nortje DC 148.8 
5 KM Asif RR 148.5 
*Last updated on 28th May, 2023

Fastest Balls in IPL history

Sl No Player Ball Speed (km/h)
1 Shaun Tait 157.7
2 Lockie Ferguson 157.3
3 Umran Malik 157
4 Mayank Yadav 156.7
5 Mayank Yadav 155.8
6 Anrich Nortje 156.2
7 Anrich Nortje 154.8
8 Dale Steyn 154.4
9 Kagiso Rabada 154.2