Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle return as West Indies announce squads for Sri Lanka series

Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle return as West Indies announce squads for Sri Lanka series

Edwards has not played for the West Indies since 2012.

Fidel Edwards
Fidel Edwards. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

West Indies, on Saturday, announced their T20I and ODI squads for the upcoming home series against Sri Lanka. The hosts have recalled fast bowler Fidel Edwards in their T20I squad along with veteran batsman Chris Gayle. Edwards has not played for the West Indies since 2012. His last T20I appearance also came in 2012 during the tour of Sri Lanka.

In 2015, Edwards had signed a Kolpak deal with Hampshire and thus became ineligible to play for West Indies. But the UK’s departure from the European Union has put an end to Kolpak registrations in the county game which meant Edwards was free to play international cricket. The 39-year old still has a lot to offer in the game and constantly clocks around 90 mph.

Gayle, on the other hand, has not played in international cricket since the home series against India in 2019. The veteran batsman, however, has been active in franchise cricket around the world. At present, he is plying his trade for the Quetta Gladiators in the ongoing Pakistan Super League. West Indies have also given maiden call-ups to Akeal Hosein and Kevin Sinclair.

“As we build towards the defence of the T20 World Cup, the opportunity is being taken to determine our best team and squad as we go forward. Chris Gayle has performed very well in recent tournaments and the selection panel thinks that he can still add great value to our team. Fidel Edwards has been selected to give the bowling the potent firepower needed,” Cricket West Indies chief selector Roger Harper said.

Meanwhile, star all-rounder Andre Russell has not been named in the squad despite recovering from COVID-19. On the other hand, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Shimron Hetmyer, and Roston Chase weren’t considered after failing to meet the required fitness standard.

West Indies will play three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Tests against Sri Lanka. The series starts on March 3.

T20I squad:

Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

For the ODI squad, the Caribbean outfit has called up Kyle Mayers, Romario Shepherd, and Jason Mohammed. Mayers recently scored a stunning match-winning double century against Bangladesh and helped West Indies win the series. All the other regular members have returned to the team too after skipping the series in Bangladesh due to COVID-19.

ODI squad:

Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope, Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Jason Mohammed, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair.