GT vs RR: Yashasvi Jaiswal displays true sportsman spirit after edging ball off Yash Dayal

GT vs RR: Yashasvi Jaiswal displays true sportsman spirit after edging ball off Yash Dayal

Jaiswal scored just three runs after consuming eight balls.

Yashasvi Jaiswal
Yashasvi Jaiswal. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The young Rajasthan Royals (RR) opener Yashasvi Jaiswal showed true sportsman spirit after deciding to walk off from the crease after getting dismissed during the Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 being played between RR and Gujarat Titans at the iconic Eden Gardens, Kolkata on May 24 (Tuesday).

The Royals got off to a slow start with the left-handed opener Yashasvi Jaiswal talking as many as eight balls to score three runs before getting scalped by young pacer Yash Dayal. The left-handed batter decided to poke a ball at the off-stump line as he edged it before the ball went into the gloves of GT wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha.

Despite, a confident appeal from the GT fielders, the on-field umpire Bruce Oxenford didn’t look too convinced about the appeal. However, as soon as he saw Jaiswal walking back toward the pavilion, he raised his finger. The replays showed Yash Dayal looking surprised as the umpire took his time to make the decision.

Yashasvi Jaiswal decided for himself and walked off from the crease

As shown in the video, umpire Oxenford was not convinced that Jaiswal has made contact with the ball. However, his life was made easy by Jaiswal as the left-handed batter made the decision for himself and walked back to the pavilion even without looking at the umpire. To note, several umpire decisions have been talking points throughout this IPL 2022 edition.

Meanwhile, RR has posted a competitive total of 188 runs in their allotted 20 overs. England batter Jos Buttler and skipper Sanju Samson were the prominent scorers for the Royals. Ford GT, Mohammed Shami, Dayal, Hardik Pandya, and Sai Kishore scalped one wicket each.

In reply, the new entrants GT have scored 157 runs in17.3 overs. The new entrants lost both their openers and Matthew Wade with David Miller and skipper Pandya at the crease (at the time of writing this article). The loser of tonight’s match will face the winner of the encounter between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in Qualifier 2 of IPL 2022.