Gujarat v Mumbai Ranji Trophy final – Statistical Highlights

Gujarat v Mumbai Ranji Trophy final – Statistical Highlights

Gujarat team with the Ranji Trophy title
Gujarat Ranji team with Ranji Trophy 2016-17 trophy.

Gujarat were crowned the Ranji Trophy champions of 2016-17 season after a record-breaking chase of 312 runs led by their captain Parthiv Patel over defending champions Mumbai. The 41-time champions conceded a 100-run first innings lead and posted 411 in their 2nd innings to make it a tense final. Parthiv Patel, who scored 90 in the first innings bettered it with a brilliant 143-run knock to hand his state first ever Ranji Trophy title. Here we look at all the stats recorded in the final game.

1 – This is the first Ranji Trophy final in which both captains were wicketkeepers. Aditya Tare and Parthiv Patel are captains of Mumbai and Gujarat respectively.

1 – This is Gujarat’s first Ranji Trophy title. They are only the 17th team to win a Ranji Trophy title.

3 – Parthiv Patel is only the 3rd keeper-captain to score a century in Ranji Trophy final. Madhav Mantri in 1951/52 and Pankaj Dharmani in 2004/05 are other two.

3 – Number of Indian domestic teams before Gujarat who have won all a title in all the 3 formats. Gujarat have won Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy. Tamil Nadu and Bengal won the three while Uttar Pradesh had a shared Vijay Hazare trophy.

Also check out- Twitter Reactions: Gujarat win their first Ranji Trophy title under Parthiv Patel

5 – This only the 5th time Mumbai lost outright/conceded first innings lead in a Ranji Trophy final. Last time was in 1990/91.

5 – This only the 5th time Gujarat won outright or took first innings lead in a Ranji Trophy final. They won 3 outright and took first innings lead twice in drawn fixtures. 2 of those 5 have come in this season. They took first innings lead in group stage encounter.

5 – Number of first-class centuries Parthiv Patel has scored against Mumbai, most for him against an opposition. He hasn’t scored more than 2 tons against any other team. He has 10 fifty plus scores against Mumbai in FC which is also the most for him against any team. He has 7 fifties against Railways.

11 – Parthiv Patel is only the 11th captain to score fifties in both innings of a Ranji Trophy final. Mohammad Kaif was the last one in 2005/06. Parthiv is only the 2nd keeper-captain to do this feat after Madhav Mantri.

17y 62d – Prithvi Shaw became the youngest player to score a fifty in Ranji Trophy finals at an age of 17 years and 62 days. He broke Mohammad Kaif’s record who did in 1997/98 season at the age of 17 years and 143 days.

143 – Parthiv Patel’s 143 in the 2nd innings is the 2nd highest score by a keeper-captain in a Ranji final. The highest is 154 by Madhav Mantri in 1951/52.

143 – Parthiv Patel’s 143 is now the 4th highest individual score in 4th innings of a Ranji Trophy final and the highest coming in a successful chase. Previous highest was 137* by Hyderabad’s Edulji Aibara in 1937/38 final against Nawanagar.

233 – Runs scored by Parthiv Patel is this game, the 2nd most by a keeper-captain in a Ranji final. Madhav Mantri aggregated 244 runs in 1951/52 final.

259 – Only once before this final, Gujarat managed to chase down a 250+ total in 4th innings in Ranji Trophy. They chased the target of 259 set by Assam in 2003/04. This 312 chase vs Mumbai is their highest ever now.

294 – Previous highest successful chase against Mumbai in Ranji trophy was 294 by Punjab in 2004/05 semis. In fact Gujarat’s 312-run chase is only the 3rd 250+ chase against Mumbai by any team in Ranji Trophy. Maharashtra chased 252 in 2013/14 quarters.

310 – Highest successful chase in a Ranji Trophy final before this was 310 by Hyderabad against Nawanagar in 1937/38.