Guwahati yet to confirm hosting matches in IPL 2020

Guwahati yet to confirm hosting matches in IPL 2020

The IPL is scheduled to get underway on March 29.

Guwahati Stadium
Guwahati Stadium. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Guwahati has hosted quite a few international matches, including the called-off contest between India and Sri Lanka a few days back. But, the Barsapara Stadium is yet to host a game in the Indian Premier League (IPL). In 2020 though, the city is set to witness its maiden IPL encounter in all likelihood. However, Guwahati is yet to confirm as the venue for the T20 tournament.

It’s assumed to be one of the reasons behind delaying the release of the IPL schedule for the upcoming edition. The T20 league is set to get underway on Sunday, March 29 with the final to take centrestage on Sunday, May 24 in Mumbai as Mumbai Indians are the defending champions.

The number of days in the cash-rich IPL will also see a rise from 45 days to 57 days. A source mentioned that a number of changes will be put forth. The same will be surrounding the convenience of the audience, coming to watch the game and also regarding doubleheaders.

Changes in the pipeline for IPL 2020

“While the full schedule isn’t ready yet, the final is set to be played on May 24 and with the tournament starting on March 29, you obviously get a longer window than say 45 days. So, there should be no issue in accommodating one game a day. In fact, it should be a walk in the park for those chalking out how matches will be played over 57 days,” a source told the Times of India (TOI).

“See, TRP is an issue for sure, but let us not just put it on that as you can for yourself go back and see how late the games finished last season. Even for those coming into the stadium, it was quite an issue going back home after the game.

While it is being discussed, but looks like we may start at 7.30 pm this edition onwards. If you are living in a metro, you do know the kind of traffic issues there is say in Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru,” the source added.

The 2019 IPL had a jaw-dropping finish. The Mumbai franchise, led by Rohit Sharma, won the championship for the fourth time. They beat the Chennai Super Kings by a solitary run in Hyderabad to become the most successful team in the tournament.