Hilton Cartwright named in ODI squad for series against New Zealand

View : 701

2 Min Read

Hilton Cartwright
Hilton Cartwright of the Warriors bats during the Matador BBQs One Day Cup match between the Cricket Australia XI and Western Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

With the Australian selectors deciding to patch up the pipes, the ODI squad has seen middle-order batsman Hilton Cartwright called up to arms for the upcoming Chappell-Hadlee series against New Zealand. The likes of James Faulkner, Glenn Maxwell, and Pat Cummins have been recalled to the squad for the same.

Trevor Hohns, the incumbent interim chief selector stated that the Western Australian batsman had checked a few boxes to justify his selection in the side given the fact that Cartwright bowls slow medium pace as well as is a supremely aggressive batsman. Hohns went on to add that the youngster was a great talent and someone who was on the selector’s radar for some time.

“Hilton bowls useful aggressive medium-pace and is a very good striker of the ball,” interim chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said. “He is an exciting young prospect for Australian cricket and we have been watching him at the pathway level for some time now.”

Hohns also added that it was a pleasure to have Pat Cummins back in the squad after a long injury layoff. Cummins is set to make his comeback after almost a year out with an injury crisis. “It is fantastic to see Pat back in Australian colors again,” Hohns said. “It has been a frustrating period for him but we are certainly excited to have him fit and firing ahead of this series.”

Also read – ICC planning an eight-team T20I tournament for associate nations

The Australian selectors have also recalled the likes of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazelwood, and James Faulkner following the 5-0 defeat at the hands of South Africa in the ODI series that concluded earlier last month.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (VC), George Bailey, Hilton Cartwright, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store